Ch..Ch..Ch..Changes!

To say that I’ve had to make changes to my life and daily routine would be an understatement.

With Cupcake’s arrival, everything changed.

My sleep pattern is shot to hell (though last night, Bagpiper was amazing enough to take over and let me sleep all night long), the majority of my shirts have spit up on the shoulders because I haven’t had time to do laundry (or any housework) and the only meals I’m making are the quick-easy and often frozen kind (thank goodness for Bertolli meals!).

But all of that was expected.

Now that we are past the one month mark (time flies!) the new daily routine is starting to become a bit clearer and more steady.

On Monday, I Skype-chatted with my writing buddies back home (and a new one from Australia — Hi Jodie!) and we discussed our writing goals for 2012. Now, I put together some fairly lofty goals, but I’d rather aim too high than too low. And though I meant to start writing on Monday, it didn’t happen.

First, it was my birthday so I went out with some of the wives out here and celebrated. Second, by the time I got home Cupcake was waking and I had to take care of her. Third, I haven’t written since NaNoWriMo and I’m finding it hard to get back into the writing habit.

Now it’s Friday, and I haven’t written all week.

I’m beginning to realize that my normal writing habit has got to change to adapt to my new life style. I can’t just open a work in progress and spend hours writing this scene or that scene. For one, I don’t have hours to write. I have fifteen minutes here, half an hour there…

Which means, I’ve got to start being more organized when it comes to my writing. I’ve got to make a plan of action for the day/week. As in, “Today, the goal is to write THIS scene. If I finish then I will do THAT scene or plot for tomorrow’s scene.”

People, I have never been a plotter and my writing could never be described as organized.

This is a hard change, but I’m determined to do it cause I miss writing! So since I didn’t write this week, I’m using the afternoon to make daily writing goals for next week. Thank goodness for OneNote…best program ever.

Also?

I had myself a baby photo shoot…and I didn’t even wake her while trying to pose her and stuff. Go me.

2 responses

  1. I had a hard time with writing with kids, too. It’s better now that they’re older, and potty-trained… but yeah. I hear you. It was impossible for the first couple months. And then I had another one 2 years later. #insaneiknow

    You still don’t have to be all planner-y. Read the previous scene while you’re feeding Cupcake. Then when she falls asleep, you can grab a few minutes to write some of the scene. Aim small, maybe a couple hundred words. Then reward yourself with a nap and cuddle time. šŸ˜‰

    I did 100 word sprints. I’d write 100 words and then check on baby. If baby was fine, I’d try for another 100 words.

    It gets a little better as they fall into a rhythm too. Babies love routines.

    January 13, 2012 at 9:40 am

    • I keep reminding myself it’ll get easier the older she gets and the better established our routine gets.

      I love the idea of 100 word sprints. I’ll definitely have to start doing that.

      January 13, 2012 at 9:48 am

Leave a Reply

