Breaking a husband’s bad habits.

I’d say that 98 percent of the time, my husband is the greatest man ever.

Usually, I can ignore and look past the two percent of annoying habits he has.

But lately — and by lately I mean ever since we moved to Japan five months ago — he’s developed this habit of putting trash in the kitchen sink.

Really?

I mean, seriously.

The trashcan is less than two feet away from the kitchen sink. In the five years I’ve lived with him he has never put trash in the kitchen sink. Ever. So what the hell, Bagpiper?

For awhile, I’ve been ignoring it. If I go to the sink and see a beer bottle, paper plate or an empty bag of chips, I throw it away. After all, he does so much that I feel bad complaining about his bad habits.

But this…

It’s aggravating.

This evening I did the dishes and found three pieces of trash in the sink. I threw it away in the trashcan, finished the dishes and then decided to take action. I have no idea if it’s going to work, but it’s a start. If it doesn’t work, then I’ll have to figure out more drastic measures…

Think it’ll work?

What bad habits does your husband/significant other have that just drive you up the wall?

3 responses

  1. That Man does the same thing! Hold over from bachelor days? Now, I get him leaving beer bottles, soda bottles, etc. because I like to rinse them out before they go out to the recycling bins. But the crumpled up napkins, the chicken bones… Hello, the garbage bin is UNDER the sink you just dumped this stuff into!

    Let me know if your sign works, LOL

    October 18, 2011 at 3:11 am

    • I would say it was a leftover habit, but he’s *never* done this before! It’s just since we’ve moved to Japan! He did tell me last night (after he saw the sign and laughed) that he puts the aluminum cans in the sink for rinsing since recycling is mandatory in Japan. OK. I get that. But…

      “What about the other trash?” I ask.

      “I was in a hurry this morning. I was rushing.”

      I arch an eyebrow and shake my head. “The trashcan is still just RIGHT there.”

      He just grins.

      I’m leaving the sign up for a couple of days to see if it works. This morning there was no trash in the sink, so that’s a good start! We’ll see how long this lasts. LOL

      October 18, 2011 at 7:28 am

  2. That is hysterical.

    October 18, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Leave a Reply

