Catching up and October goals

ZOMG. It’s going on nearly three weeks since I’ve posted anything.

I’ve thought about it, I really have, but all the energy I had during the second trimester has seem to have flown away. I’m into the third trimester now (only three months to go!) and I find myself tired all the damn time.

So I’ve had to really evaluate how I want to handle my goals for October. My September goals…well…some I met and some I didn’t. The ones that I didn’t were mostly due to how tired I’ve been the past few weeks.

September Goals

Writing:

  • Finish current novella. It’s about 30% done.
  • Write at least 500 words a day. Seems small, but 500 words is better than no words.
  • Track daily word count in Excel.
  • No playing Sims 3 until word count is met and counted for the day. (Yay for reward system)

Knitting:

  • Finish baby hat/booties set.
  • Finish baby blanket #1
  • Cast on for baby blanket #2 (if yarn order ever arrives) and knit at least 50% (or finish, if possible)

Mommy Stuff:

  • Figure out where Bagpiper and I are purchasing furniture from.
  • Order/Ship/Assemble crib, changer/dresser and rocking chair.
  • Order nursery bedding.
  • Feel like I’m somewhat prepared for motherhood by having a crib already.

What I got done:

  • Didn’t play any Sims 3, but recently, Sidney Bristol has gotten me hooked on Zombie Lane over on G+…
  • Finished baby hat.
  • Figure out where Bagpiper and I are purchasing furniture from.
  • Order/Ship/Assemble crib, changer/dresser and rocking chair.
  • Order nursery bedding.
  • Feel like I’m somewhat prepared for motherhood by having a crib already.

All the baby stuff got done because I married an awesome man. The nursery is now about 75 percent ready. All that’s left is for me to organize the closet and move my yarn bins and a few books into our bedroom closet (which is ridiculously huge). A sweep/mop job and some displaying of baby stuff I have piled in the crib, and the nursery will be done.

Just yesterday, in fact, Bagpiper and I went to the furniture store and purchased a rocking chair for the nursery and a playpen/bassinet combo. We have all the “big” baby stuff out of the way. My mom is throwing me a virtual baby shower later this month — like a normal baby shower, complete with food and games, except I’m going to be Skyping in.

Also yesterday, Bagpiper and I purchased a really nice KING SIZED bed. In the years we’ve been together, we’ve slept on some really crummy mattresses. Our first mattress, was my bed from home. Comfy, but twin sized. Our next was a full size that was pretty cheap, so it wasn’t very comfy after the first month, also, it was me, him and the dog — so not a lot of room, despite the fact that the dog is tiny (all three of us like to sprawl out). Currently, we’re using a government issued bed (we left the full-size in Texas). It’s also full size and OMG…it’s hella uncomfortable. Sleeping on rocks would be more comfortable. I’d say I’m uncomfortable because of the pregnancy, but Bagpiper has told me his back hurts because of the bed too.

So, we finally did it and threw a lot of money at a really nice, high quality KING SIZE bed. It’ll arrive on Thursday and we’re both pretty excited about this.

Between the new mattress and having all the big stuff in the nursery, October is off to a really good start. Still, because I’m tired frequently, I’m keeping my goals very light.

October Goals

Writing

  • Finish “Party Favors”. I’d estimate that I’m about 7o percent done. A couple of scenes and adding the smexy bits is all that’s really left.
  • Plan for NaNoWriMo. Yes, I’m still going to do NaNo. Except this year I need/want to go in with an outline. If I’m going to be sleepy a lot, I need all the preparation I can get. Still deciding between three ideas, so I need to figure out which I want to write.

Reading

  • Finish enough books to schedule reviews through January (this is an October/November goal. I’ll be taking maternity leave from Book Addicts from the last half of December through the month of January. Don’t want to leave my girls hanging!) I’ve been getting lots of reading done, so I don’t see this as being a big issue, I’m just writing this so I remember to actually write the reviews… 😛

Knitting

Mommy Stuff

  • Finish the nursery. Preferably by Oct. 20 — this is when mother-in-law is visiting. More importantly, this is when mother-in-law BRINGS MY SUSHI DOG TO JAPAN.
  • Spend ridiculous amounts of time cuddling my dog when she arrives. Cause, yea, I’m one of those people whose pets are their babies. Their might be a human baby in my belly, but my Sushi dog is still my child, too.

Other than all of that, there’s not a lot new to report. I’m bigger and rounder and dealing with lots more punches and kicks. I’m trying out a slew of new recipes from Pinterest this week, so hopefully I’ll remember to take pictures and share.

Oh, PS, for those of you who look for me on FB, I’ve kind of slacked off on playing on FB. The new changes drive me bonkers, and I really can’t stand the fact that I can’t turn off the “top story” feature. You can still find me on Twitter and on G+, however.

14 responses

  1. Congrats on getting those goals finished up – I’m afraid I got NO writing done in September because I was so busy setting up the blog. Cest la vie, there’s always October. Good luck on Nanowrimo – and you’re so brave doing it pregnant! Wow!

    Well, I guess it’d be worse if you were due in November but you get the idea! 🙂

    October 3, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    • There will always be stuff that comes up — unfortunately, sometimes writing has to take a back seat to Real Life. I try to write a little bit every day, or at least brainstorm on other projects I have. I may not be writing nearly as much as I’d like to be, but hey, writing is writing!

      I’m going to attempt NaNo, and try not to beat myself up too bad if I don’t make it to the finish line. December I’ll be taking a break from writing…I’ll be too close to my due date to want to fuss with editing or starting a new project. December will be for reading and relaxing and getting ready for baby’s arrival.

      October 3, 2011 at 1:40 pm

  2. Aww, congrats on your journey toward mommyhood! Being a mother is one of the awesomest things in the world! 🙂 And good luck on all your goals. 🙂

    October 3, 2011 at 9:30 pm

  3. Good luck with all your goals. And congratulations! What an exciting time in your life. And you’re fitting writing in there, too. Just wow. You rock!

    October 3, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    • Thank you, Lauralynn! I’m trying not to feel too guilty if I don’t write as much as I’d like, but I’m still striving to write something, be it 5 words or 500.

      October 4, 2011 at 5:00 am

  4. Great goals Alice. Good luck with them.

    October 4, 2011 at 5:51 am

  5. Those sound like some great goals! Getting some writing done even with all the baby stuff is super impressive and really admirable. I wish you the best of luck, but I have a feeling you won’t even need it. : )

    October 4, 2011 at 6:43 am

    • I’ll still take that luck, if you don’t mind. LOL

      It’s easier to get writing done when I’m about 14 hours ahead of people back home. Twitter and G+ go very silent in the afternoons (because the US is fast asleep!) which makes for great writing time with little online distraction.

      October 4, 2011 at 1:31 pm

  6. Yea for all the baby stuff being done! I’m excited for you. And Sushi. Yea Sushi!

    October 4, 2011 at 7:15 am

    • Right now, I’m more excited about my dog finally coming out here than I am about the baby room being almost done. LOL

      October 4, 2011 at 1:30 pm

  7. Good luck with your goals. I should have thought to put my knitting on my goal list. Great idea.

    October 6, 2011 at 11:15 am

    • Thank you! One of my friends does monthly goals at the beginning of the month — she lists her goals for writing, reading and other areas of her life. I liked the idea so much that I’ve taken to doing it as well.

      October 6, 2011 at 11:31 am

Leave a Reply

