Other than pink, please.

The trouble with searching for baby bedding for a little girl is that one is inundated with all things pink.

Perhaps I’m just being too picky in my search, but you’d think a person could find some variety in the search for nursery bedding. If you know me at all, you know that I prefer purple over pink any day — just look around, the site and blog are purple! However, what some of you may not know (and some of you do..) is that I detest butterflies.

Those little winged spawns of Satan just creep me out. I hate them. I don’t like them. They’re gross and creepy and ewww.

So here’s my problem. All baby bedding for girls is either pink or it’s purple with butterflies. I’ve seen some super cute pink bedding. But it’s was just too much pink for me. I’ve seen so-so bedding from purple. I say so-so, because it seems like everyone who is designing purple bedding only knows how to pair purple with butterflies.

I saw a really cute purple bedding from Target, but it’s a little on the pricey side for a mere 4pc crib set. Yes, it’s gorgeous (cherry blossom-like twigs with mini birds), but worth $265? Not really.

There are only two other purple beddings I’ve found I liked:

Click for larger image.

There is this 6pc Hello Kitty & Friends bedding set for $180. In terms of color, I really love this set. It’s a lavender-purple, with yellow and green accents. Very tiny amounts of pink that aren’t noticeable. However, I’m not crazy sold on the idea of having a cartoon character as the dominant theme of the nursery. The picture, with all the accessories added into one corner, is busy and also takes away from the appeal. I know I won’t have ALL of that, but it’s still looks like too much crammed into too small a space.

More searching yielded some maybe-bedding sets, but they all had some sort of problem. Too pricey for what I’d be getting, too busy looking, crazy pattering that hurt my eyes, butterflies, saying it was a purple bedding set but the picture is all pink….

Click for larger image.

The next set, I found is this 10pc Cupcake bedding for $90. While this one has more pink than Hello Kitty, I like the theme much more. Who doesn’t love cupcakes? Plus, it’s different from all the other bedding sets, but still cute. Not too busy looking. More pink than I’d like, but there’s something still very sweet about it (no pun intended!).

Am I being too picky?

I want to put this to a vote. You pick the bedding you like better. Maybe it will help me decide.

6 responses

  1. I love the colors of the Hello Kitty, but I don’t care for Hello Kitty stuff, so I’m going with the Cupcake. On principle.

    September 5, 2011 at 7:25 am

    • LOL…yea, I lean a little more toward Cupcakes because it’s not HK stuff. But like you, I like the HK colors better. /sigh Would have been easier if I were having a boy…lol

      September 5, 2011 at 7:34 am

  2. We didn’t find out ahead of time what our first was so we went with classic Pooh. Home Depot had matching wallpaper and boarders for it. Cream with a slate blue, purple, goldenrod, and pink. It was perfect for either.

    I’m not a huge fan of theme rooms for kids because they change their minds SO fast. But Pooh, yeah, I could get behind Winnie-the-Pooh.

    Of the two you’ve mentioned, I guess, I’d go for the cupcake (I do like the yellow and purple walls in that picture, love that combo). And no I don’t think you’re being too picky. You’re going to be living with whatever you pick for a year or more, you have to like it. One thing you might want to consider is whether you plan to keep the bedding for a second child.

    I used the same for all four of my kids, which was money saving, and increased it’s sentimental value for me. Sap that I am, I hope to use it when the grandbabies come to visit (which better not be any time soon, LOL).

    September 5, 2011 at 8:15 am

  3. HELLO KITTY BEDDING!!!! YOU MUST HAVE HELLO KITTY!!!! NAO!!!! BUY IT!!1 BUY IT NAO!!!! HELLO KITTY AAHHHH!!!!!!

    September 5, 2011 at 10:25 am

    • So, I take it you like Hello Kitty…LOL

      September 5, 2011 at 1:48 pm

  4. Cid

    Cupcakes rock!!!!!

    September 5, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Leave a Reply

