Ye Olde Check-In

Not much to report on for ROW80 this week. Progress is there, but coming slowly.

The Bagpiper was supposed to leave for Guam on Monday, but a typhoon caused the flight to be cancelled, so he was home Monday and Tuesday. I took advantage of his time home and we did some housework, some yard work and a couple of extra date nights, which was nice.

He left this morning for Guam and will return on Friday. Next week he is on leave, so I don’t think I’ll have much progress writing-wise next week either. We have plans to do a lot of sight-seeing (finally!) and there’s talk of going to Okuma and either renting a beach cabin or spending a couple days at a resort.

We’ll also be finding out the sex of the baby next week, so expect me to be blabbering it all over the blog, Facebook, Twitter and G+.

I’ve also been on an epic fantasy kick, reading-wise. I reread the “Tir-Alainn Trilogy” by Anne Bishop and now I’m making my way through Sharon Shinn’s “The Twelve Houses.” I only have four books in her series, and I’m halfway through book two right now. After reading 25 books last month for #ToBeReMo, I’m taking it slowly and not devouring a book a day, lol. Besides, fantasies, I find, need to be read slowly to really enjoy all the details that go into them. I’m thinking of trying the “Game of Thrones” series next. I keep hearing fantastic things about the series. I also want to reread the first three books of Jacqueline Carey’s “Kushiel Series”, because I adore the main characters in those books and it’s been a while since I’ve reread the series.

Got any epic fantasy recommendations?

So not as much writing as I’d hoped, but overall, I’m still happy with my slow-but-steady progress. It’s hard to get back into the swing of things after two months away and with hormones going haywire. Plus, an email talk with some of my writing friends back home made me realize there’s still some stuff I need to iron out plot-wise in Zoraida, and until I can get those problems fixed, the story is kind of stuck — or it will be very soon.

I may use the rest of this week and next week to do some brainstorming and plotting, since I won’t be writing a whole lot. Originally, this story was going to be a steampunk romance novella. However, I’m thinking maybe there are more stories in this world to tell. Perhaps some sequel novellas from the POV of other characters? Too early to tell, but it’s a thought in the back of my mind.

How is your ROW80 progress going?

4 responses

  1. I live in fear of what pregnancy will do to my ability to write. And the after. EEP!

    Looking forward to hearing if it’s a boy or girl!

    July 20, 2011 at 9:11 am

    • I’m sure once the baby is here I will have to make adjustments to my writing schedule, but it’ll be worth it. 🙂

      July 20, 2011 at 9:19 am

  2. Funny, I didn’t begin seriously writing until my oldest (now 11) was six months old. I now have three girls (11, 9 & 6) and I think they inspire me to write. Seeing how people are born with personalities (seems so much more nature than nurture, although nurture enhances nature) made me want to create more “characters” than the ones my husband and I biologically created.

    Enjoying life also enhances writing, so I think you are making great progress. Looking forward to hearing more about your pregnancy and writing!

    July 20, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  3. Keep on trucking. Not the same, but I’m getting a new puppy (the indoor kind) in late August. I know I’m going to have to tighten up on my schedule, but I think he’ll be worth it. LOL

    July 20, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

