150 beats per minute, Texas heat and my crazy cravings…

I had an OB check-up earlier today.

Doctor says everything looks good and we listened to Baby Bagpiper’s heartbeat. It’s beating at 150 beats per minute and I think it’s the coolest sound ever. Afterward, I scheduled my 20-week sonogram — you know, the one where Bagpiper and I finally get to know if we are having a baby boy or a baby girl! The appointment isn’t until July 29, but it’s perfect because Bagpiper is on leave that week, and I think that will be a terrific ending to a week off.

So that’s the happy news.

The sad news is about the dog. Because Texas is in a heat wave (no surprise — when is Texas not in a heat wave?) all the airlines are saying that until it cools down a little, there will be no dogs allowed on flights. They’re not even allowing dogs to ride in the cabin! So mother-in-law has decided to wait until September before flying out to Okinawa with the dog.

Oh my little Sushi-dog...I miss you so much!

September.

It seems like so far away.

And even though I know it’s for the best, I’m still bummed. I really do miss my Sushi-dog. But that flight is going to be super long and traumatic enough for her without adding potential heat stroke to the mix. So I will do my best to be patient.

In some ways, it’s a blessing in disguise because if my mother-in-law had come down this coming week as originally planned, we’d be really bored. Bagpiper will be in Guam next week and I am still not ready to tackle left-side-of-the-road driving. By waiting until September it gives me time to muster up some courage and take the plunge to get behind the wheel over here. Plus, hopefully Bagpiper and I will find some neat places while he’s on leave so that when she does arrive we’ll have lots to show her.

Otherwise, things are great. I still haven’t felt the baby move, but the doctor assures me this is normal and that I will probably begin to feel little flutters in the next couple of weeks. She said not to expect hard kicks, since the baby just doesn’t have the muscle strength for that yet. Still, I imagine the first time I feel the little flutters (and not think it’s just gas) it’s going to be a really amazing moment.

There’s not much else going on, except my out-of-control cravings, which Bagpiper is amazing about. A couple weeks ago it was chicken pot pies. This week it’s been chicken salad sandwiches, though right this moment I’d love some nachos with queso that they make at Chili’s (and thank goodness there’s a Chili’s on Kadena)…

2 responses

  1. Good grief, woman! September? You really just need to bite the bullet like every other American that moved to Japan, and get in the car to drive. At some point you will get sick of relying on others to take you around lol

    July 16, 2011 at 10:08 am

    • I will drive when I’m good and ready to drive. 😛

      July 21, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Leave a Reply

