Writer Wednesday: Checking in with ROW80

It’s been a little more than week since ROW80 round three has begun.

Mock cover for "Zoraida"

Last week, my progress was dismal. After two months away from Zoraida/away from writing, I was finding it very hard to not only get back into the groove of my story, but to get back into the groove of writing period. As a result, I didn’t get a whole lot of writing done.

So on the suggestions of others, I did a little rearranging of my goals — that is after all, one of the marvelous things about ROW80 — and in doing so, noticed an improvement in my writing this week. Not a huge improvement, mind you, but an improvement nonetheless.

First, I opened up TweetDeck and readded columns for #ROW80, #1K1Hr and #wordmongering. This helps me find and connect with writers who are either late owls/early birds in the US or are near my time zone.

Second, I sent out an email about the premise of my story to my writing group back home (AKA: Team Awesome) and they helped me work through some little problems I was missing. Not to mention, writing up the premise of the story for them helped me get my mind in back in the story. It also lead me to discover a OneNote notebook filled with notes about the story. So this was probably the biggest help.

Third, on Suzan’s suggestion (or maybe it was Cid’s…) I joined Romance Divas. I haven’t gotten to play on the site very much, but I’m aiming to change that this week. Again, I’m hoping that not only will I find people who will help me become a stronger writer, but who I can maintain a virtual writer’s group with. It’s not easy when 98 percent of my friends are 14 hours behind me time-wise.

So while I didn’t write abundantly on Zoraida, I did take some steps to ensure that the rest of ROW80 will be successful.

How did you do this past week?

4 responses

  1. Great job! It sounds like tweaking your goals so they are doable was the right choice 🙂 I wish you a successful and productive week! See you at next check in 🙂

    Marie

    July 13, 2011 at 7:36 am

    • Yes, it was what I needed. Hopefully this week yields more words written. 🙂

      July 13, 2011 at 7:38 am

  2. That’s awesome, Alice. Romance Divas is a lot of fun, too. You’ll love it there.

    I do still love that cover. 🙂

    And I remembered to check in! Woot! I’m rocking this round. (shut up, I know we’re only in week two) 😛

    July 13, 2011 at 8:32 am

  3. Rearranging goals is the best part of ROW80 for me. Sounds like you’re on a great track now. Good luck with this week!

    July 13, 2011 at 9:41 am

Leave a Reply

