ROW80 Check In

Ugh.

I’m trying, I really am, but after two months away from Zoraida, I’m finding it so hard to not only get back into the groove of the story, but to get back in the groove of writing period.

It really makes me miss my #writersdatenight girls back home. They always kept me so motivated and pushed me when I started slacking. I don’t have that here in Okinawa. I’m on my own.

So, new plan of attack. I want to shift my writing time to either late night/early morning, because that will be morning/evening in the US, and I can utilize all the writers on Twitter to help keep me motivated. I need a virtual writers group! Thank goodness for the internet — I don’t know how successful I’d be without it. Unable to reach the support and motivation I need? My WIPs would all wither away…

So yea. That’s the new plan, because writing in the afternoon when I’m most bored at home isn’t working. Not with the rest of the US fast asleep and no one for me to reach out to.

How did you first few days of ROW80 go?

14 responses

  1. Elmira

    Hey. Where do you live now? Cause I’m not in US either. 🙂

    July 6, 2011 at 6:08 am

    • I just moved with my husband to Okinawa, Japan. I find myself 14 hours ahead of my friends back home in Texas.

      July 6, 2011 at 6:31 am

      • Elmira

        Wow that’s a huge time difference! And I thought moving to England (currently live in Greece) will upset my timetable.

        July 6, 2011 at 7:59 am

  2. Cid

    Have we twisted your arm about joining Romance Divas? Suzan and I should. They have a chat n’ challenge chat room that I’ve been frequenting recently. There are a lot of people there and plenty from outside of the US. Also, #1k1hr and #wordmongering twitter loops. Also, I have lots of editing to do and I can poke you about writing, cuz lady, I wanna read more of your words!

    July 6, 2011 at 9:22 am

    • Nope, I have not heard of Romance Divas, but I’ll definitely look into it! I’m going to add the twitter hashtags to TweetDeck so I can follow them again.

      July 6, 2011 at 9:59 am

      • Cid

        I like the community. And the chat challenges are good motivation.

        July 6, 2011 at 11:05 am

  3. Alice, have you checked out #wordmongering? I LOVE #wordmongering. You check in with the hash tag on Twitter. From the :00 of the hour until the :30 of the hour, we all write. Once done, we share word counts, virtual confetti (if @ava_jae is on 😉 ) and it’s an awesome group of people from all over the world and time zones.

    I thought it would be hokie at first, but I average 800-900 words every 30 minutes (I’m an outliner, full disclosure). Having the other half hour off makes it much easier to manage distractions. Especially as I have a 2 year-old underfoot when I write.

    July 6, 2011 at 9:57 am

    • Thanks for the tip! I’ll definitely look into #wordmongering!

      July 6, 2011 at 9:59 am

  4. Long way from home – it’s a lonely buisness with no one around to encourage – the wordmongering site sounds interesting – all the best – although you don’t get us immediatly we are a very nice bunch – really!!

    July 6, 2011 at 11:17 am

  5. I’m not doing ROW80 this time around, summer is just too crazy with all four beasties home. And I haven’t tried any of the Twitter groups because I’ve never been good at the timed challenges.

    I do Dark & Early (D&E) with Joely Sue Burkhart…basically we email each other first thing in the morning with our goals for that day. Sometimes we check back in with each other in the afternoon/evening otherwise we update what we did during the next D&E check in. We motivate each other, help with brainstorming where needed, encourage and support each other when things go south, and are accountable.

    Drop me an email (or direct message on Twitter) with your email and I’ll add you to my D&E routine 🙂

    July 6, 2011 at 11:29 am

  6. I miss your face. 😦

    Wordmongering is good. I do that with my alterego. THere’s almost always someone wanting to #1k1hr. I just ask and people will join in or I’ll jump in with others. Plus, some of my favorite authors use that hashtag and I like feeling like I’m writing with them. Hehe.

    You could also try Forward Motion. That was my first writing community. I love the people in their chat. There’s a lot of Aussies there so a lot of them would be in there while you are up. Evenings tend to be the best time there in any time zone. 😉 Romance Divas is a good one too. I suckered Cid into that one. LOL

    Or you can always Skype with us and we’ll admonish you for not writing as you should. 😉

    July 7, 2011 at 4:02 pm

  7. You had a writers’ date night? That sounds great!
    Funny, it’s usually suggested that you set an MS aside before you dive into editing, and yet it’s not working for you? When I try it, I can only hold out for a week or so – I’m worried that if I wait longer I’ll come back and find the story sucks!

    July 8, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    • Yes, me and four other girls (sometimes five) would meet up once a week, have dinner and write for hours. It was very helpful to my productivity!

      I didn’t set aside my MS for editing. I set aside writing in general because I was in the middle of graduating college and moving from Texas to Japan while finding out I was pregnant.

      Now that I’m settled in Japan and ready to start writing again, I find all that time off is making difficult to get back into a good habit of writing daily.

      July 8, 2011 at 8:41 pm

  8. Pingback: Writer Wednesday: Checking in with ROW80

Leave a Reply

