ROW80: Round Three…Write!

After failing quite dismally at round two of ROW80, I’m determined to make round three a success.

First, though, I feel I must apologize to those of you who read my blog and participated in round two. You see, I was recruited by Kait Nolan to be a sponsor. And in the beginning, I feel I did pretty good as a sponsor. However, toward May things in my life got so hectic that I didn’t have a lot of time for writing, much less for being a good sponsor.

Most of you know that around the time I started failing in my sponsor duties, I had a whole lot going on in my personal life. Because of all those events going on, I was a bad sponsor, and I’m sorry. I was also a bad, very bad writer. How bad?

Well…my blog died for two months and in that time I probably manged to maybe write a whopping 500 words Zoraida, the steampunk romance novella I’m working on. Yea. Pretty bad, huh?

But that’s the beauty about ROW80. You can adjust your goals and not feel too guilty when you can’t meet them. ROW80 is a writing challenge that understands writers have a life outside of writing, and last round my writing had to sit on the back burner.

Now that I’m (mostly) settled in my new house in Japan, however, I’m ready to begin round three of ROW80 with renewed determination and a stronger focus. Because of the two months I went with little to no writing, I’m keeping my goals pretty damn simple for round three.

ROW80 Round Three Goals

  • July: Rebuild that daily writing habit by continuing to focus on Zoraida.
  • August: Finish the first draft of Zoraida. I have about 2/3 of the story left to write.
  • September: If Zoraida is finished, put aside and begin working on the SciFi Shifter Story of Awesome

That will bring me to the end of round three, and I think that those goals are very attainable. Round four of ROW80 will be another light goal, since not only will the holidays be fast approaching, I’ll be in my third trimester by then and preparing to give birth sometime in December (my due date is December 20).

"Hi, I'm Baby Bagpiper. This was taken at 12 weeks, but I'm almost 17 weeks now."

Yikes. That’s kind of scary to think about. I’m still early in my second trimester, but I know once the fall gets here, time is going to fly. Shite. I’m going to be a mother before I know it.

I really wish I could pour myself a strong drink right now.

6 responses

  1. I will drink for you. 🙂

    July 4, 2011 at 11:43 am

  2. I didn’t do the check-in’s as well as I should have. I think I’m going to withold doing any challenges until Nano. Too much going on, ya know?

    July 4, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    • I can’t believe I won’t be with you guys for NaNo this year! 😦

      July 4, 2011 at 9:08 pm

  3. Glad to have you with us this round, Alice. Habits are hard to establish, at least for me! And as you know, the beauty of ROW80 is its flexibility–if you fly through these, you can make more; if your real life gets in the way, you can scale back.

    I’m also willing to drink for you! 😀

    July 4, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    • That ability to make more/scale back is a big reason I love ROW80. 🙂

      July 4, 2011 at 9:08 pm

Leave a Reply

