Quick update…

Just after midnight this morning, I received a call from the Bagpiper. He landed safely in Seattle.

He had a four hour layover, so I imagine now he’s on a plane en route to Okinawa. I have no clue what time (for me) he’ll be landing, but he’ll at least send me a quick text message or email from the airport when he lands (I’m not sure how the cell phone will work, I imagine he’ll be roaming, but at least I’ll know he is safe).

Once he’s there, he’ll find out where he’ll be sleeping for the next two weeks (it’ll take about that long to get set up for base housing) and then he’ll set about the task of fixing whatever paperwork needs fixing. I hope he gets some rest first…I’m not sure he took jet lag into consideration when he left.

So that’s that.

I’m off to class to take an exam, work on a project and make a presentation — all while wondering when I’ll hear from the Bagpiper.

C’est la vie.


2 responses

  1. I hope base housing in Japan is more available than the bases I’ve lived on. My mom was on the waiting list for six months when she was stationed at the Lakenheath base in England.

    April 28, 2011 at 7:12 am

    • Alice McElwee

      Well, they told him two weeks so fingers crossed.

      April 28, 2011 at 7:43 am

Leave a Reply

