What do I blog about?

A second post today, so that I’m back on track with this blog series.

This post was supposed to go up yesterday, and here it is today. 🙂

Now that we’ve established our online identity and we’ve marked our territory on all the social media sites, it’s time to work on on the “scary” part of our platform — blogging.

Blogging is one of those things you either love, hate or are terrified of. If you hate blogging, don’t do it. It’s that simple. There’s no law mandating that writers have to blog. Does it help? Yes, of course it does, but if you hate to do it, then don’t do it. Focus your efforts elsewhere, like your Facebook page or your Twitter.

If you love blogging, you’re probably already doing it. Go you.

I want to talk to people who want to blog but are hesitant/terrified and don’t know how to start.

Getting Started

To start blogging, we first need a blog. This is common sense, but for people who don’t know where to start this can be an overwhelming step. Do you buy your own domain? Do you use WordPress? Blogger? Livejournal? Other places?

Don’t buy a domain. Yet. Feel around on WordPress.com or Blogger.com and find the one you like. You may have to make an account at each, but that’s OK. Before you blog, just mess around and pick the site that feels right to you. Personally, I prefer WordPress, but I know other people who prefer Blogger.

Start Small. Start Free.

If you’ve never blogged before or are new to blogging, wait before you buy a domain. Start with a free blog (WordPress.com, Blogger.com) that uses your name. For example, Cid has her blog at: cidtyer.wordpress.com

It’s a free blog and she’s made it look fantastic. With so many free templates, it’s not necessary for you to buy a domain right away. You can have a free blog that has your personality all over it.

Topics…

Now that you have a blog, you need to start writing in it! For newbies, a good pattern is to blog once a week, just to build a habit. Later, you can decide you want to post every two days, or three days, or everyday.

But what to write about? Topics are endless. Do not think you have to start out with this OMGSOAMAZINGAWESOMESAUCE blog. That takes time. I’m no where near that level, and I’ve been blogging for a while. How much time does it take? It varies from person to person. Don’t stress it. This is why I say blog because you love it…because if you don’t, it’s not worth the energy.

When I started this blog, I had no topics. Two months ago, my weekly blog post was just blogging my weekly writing and reading goals. I did it because a) I had nothing else to write about and b) I wanted to establish a habit of updating regularly.

Sometime in March, I decided to use my degree in conjunction with writing. My degree is in public relations, and that’s how this blog series was born. I’m using my knowledge of public relations and social media to help writers establish their online identity. My friend Linda has used her knowledge of gaming to help writers.

So take out a piece of paper or open a Word document (or better yet, open OneNote) and jot down your interests (other than writing), your areas of expertise and build topics off of those things. You don’t have to do an entire blog series, you can just write posts randomly — just do it regularly.

Finding topics to blog about isn’t all that different from trying to find something fictional to write about. People find their ideas/topics in different ways.

How do you find your blogging topics and ideas?

2 responses

  1. A lot of my blogging stems from what I’m working on. When I was doing worldbuilding – I did a worldbuilding series. I also went and looked up the various National Month of …. and tried to find a way to incorporate that into my blogging. I have a few of those themes coming up.

    April 27, 2011 at 8:08 am

    • Looking up monthly themes is a good idea. I do that sometimes, but I haven’t done it in a while. It was something mentioned in a few of my journalism classes to help writers come up with article ideas. Works well for bloggers too!

      April 28, 2011 at 8:58 am

Leave a Reply

