I really hate frogging.

There’s a reason my last post was more than a week ago.

I’ve been in a knitting funk.

Two weeks ago I began a slouchy hat for one of my favorite authors. Halfway through, I realized that I forgot the increase round. You know, that round that’s going to make the slouchy hat slouchy? Yea. Totally did not see that line in the pattern. Of course, I noticed this 17 rows after I was supposed to knit that round.

Because it was late, I decided I would tink back the next day and just reknit. Only, the next day came and I was still upset at having to frog half the project, so I left it alone for another day. Then another. Then another.

Die devil frog.

Suddenly, it’s a week later, and I still have not touched that damn hat. I really hate frogging. I’m already a slow knitter to begin with, so even though it’s just 17 rows (which really, is not a lot and I did this in an evening while watching a movie on Netflix), all I can seem to focus on is that it’s two hours of wasted knitted.

I can’t possibly be the only knitter who gets put into a funk when faced with frogging.

The good news is that I’m on Spring Break, so I have lots of free time to reknit the hat. I’ve also started rewatching Doctor Who on Netflix, and knitting + Netflix = awesome times.

How do you deal with frogging? Do you get put in a funk like I do and stop knitting for a day or two (or week) or do you just shrug it off and knit on?

3 responses

  1. Cid

    There are some projects that I haven’t touched in over a year. Yup. I’ve left them for that long! Generally when I frog, it’s because I’ve screwed up to the point that the project isn’t salvageable. There’s no hope trying, so I might as well move on!

    March 14, 2011 at 9:15 am

    • See, generally when I frog it’s because I misread the pattern and don’t notice until a few rows later. It’s an easy fix, but it’s just a pain in the ass…

      March 14, 2011 at 6:19 pm

  2. Most frogging I do gets done either straight away or about a year later. There is no half measures. If I am working on something and I am really enjoying it and am wrapped up in the design process or want the finished item really badly, I will frog as soon as I need to and not feel that bad about it. If my design process is going badly or the garment was something I started to knit on a whim and it wasn’t really thought through about whether I really wanted it or not, then it gets shoved in a bag and put in the corner for a while. Then about a year later I will find the bag and frog so I can use the yarn. It doesn’t feel like I’m undoing my own work after such a long time has gone past. A woman in our knitting group took away another member’s garment and frogged it for her, because she couldn’t watch her friend waste the yarn. It only took an hour or so and now the original knitter has some lovely yarn to play with and no ugly sweater in her closet.

    March 14, 2011 at 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

