Mock Cover Makings: Zoraida

After doing a ton of research and world building last night and this morning, I took a break to do a mock cover for my steampunk novella that is set in the same world as The Iron Circus. This novella is a steampunk romance, but there’s adventure and airships, which makes it more than just a romance.

I’m naming my novella Zoraida, which is the name of the airship my airship pirate captains. It’s a Spanish name that means “enchanting woman” (at least, according to behindthename.com it does). I chose this title because of its meaning. My hero, the airship pirate/conman, loves his airship; it’s the only woman he truly loves, until  he meets his match in a changeling druid. In my world druids are halflings — half Aos Sidhe (fairies/fair folk) and half human.

Anyway, my world building aside, here are the stock photos I grabbed from DeviantArt:

Image from: umbradenoapte-stock

Image from: Tacostock

Image from: SilverRose Stock

Image from: 4U2C-aka-Shane

Then, with help from Paint.NET and Picnik.com, I created this:

Viola! Zoraida‘s mock cover.

What do you think?

4 responses

  1. That is a fantastic cover! Very well done!

    March 12, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    • Alice

      Thank you! I’m no photo-editing genius, but I like how it turned out. 🙂

      March 12, 2011 at 5:18 pm

  2. Cid

    very cool!

    March 12, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    • Alice

      Thanks!

      March 12, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

