Working Trophy Wife. Maybe.

I find myself thinking more and more about what I want to do when I finally get to Japan.

Though the Bagpiper and I are still in the midst of getting things done — dental exams, physicals, packing — I’ve been doing a little research on the side. Even though I don’t have to work if I don’t want to (and I admit, the idea of being a trophy wife is pretty awesome), I’ll still have a shiny new degree that I can use.

Since I don’t have to hold a traditional job, my main focus is going to be revising and polishing my fiction manuscripts so I can start querying agents and publishers by 2012. Once school is behind me, I’ll have a lot more time to devote to writing. Aside from writing fiction, I also want to re-open my etsy shop (though this will be a side thing, and not something I expect to make a lot of money from).

However, I still want to put my degree to some use. After a little online research, I’ve found that each base in Okinawa has its own weekly newspaper. Once I’m in Japan and everything is all settled (and I’ve gone to the beach), I plan to contact editors to see about writing for a local American paper. I think it would be really awesome experience.

There are also offices and small public relations firms on the bases too and I plan on looking into public relations work as well. The Bagpiper’s also mentioned teaching, so there’s that too, but I’m not sure if that’s where I want to go. I mean, I just got done with school…the last thing I want is to go back, even if it’s in a teaching capacity.

Of course, I’m also going to be learning Japanese, so who knows what kind of awesome job I can find that utilizes my language skills.

Then again, I could very well just take full advantage of being a trophy wife. 😉

 

3 responses

  1. Cid

    Me = Jealous

    March 10, 2011 at 3:25 pm

  2. I am jealous too!

    Trophy Wife. And you’ll have baked goodies!

    I totally want scans if you work for the paper!

    March 10, 2011 at 3:28 pm

  3. Suzan

    Dude, you will get bored being a Trophy Wife after a while. Three years is a long time. It’ll be good for you to have something on the side to entertain yourself with.

    March 10, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Leave a Reply

