Rearranging the Goals

This week, despite my many attempts, has not been good for my writing.

Last month it was my goal to write 1K a day, which is totally doable. Unfortunately, my school schedule did not permit me to do this very often, so this month my goal is to write 500 words a day.

I’ve yet to write anything this week.

However, in my defense, life just got really crazy. My husband is now back in the Marines and he leaves April 1 (I will follow mid-May, after graduation). Though we don’t have to pack, we do have to go through all of our stuff and decide what goes with us, what stays in storage and what we can just get rid of.

I’m right on track with my classes, and I’m spending this week attempting to get a little ahead, since I know the next two weeks will be filled with going through all of our things and getting everything squared away for the Big Move. Thankfully, one of these weeks is Spring Break, which will allow me lots of time to get organized.

Sadly, it’s not going to be good for my writing, so I’m changing my goals. My goal is no longer to write a certain amount of words each day, my goal is now just to be able to write something, anything each day. Whether it’s a paragraph or three pages, I just want to focus on setting at least 10 minutes each night to write.

I’m learning that when I set a specific amount of words to write each day, I feel stressed and defeated when I can’t meet that criteria. I know that setting a specific goal like that works for a lot of people. However, it’s not for everyone, and I’m learning that, at least right now, it’s not the method for me.

As a newbie writer, my bigger focus should be on getting into the habit of writing daily, not writing a certain amount of words each day.

I also probably need to train myself to go to bed early and wake up to write in the morning. As it stands, my preffered writing time is late at night, but when there’s an 8 am class to go to, staying up until 3 am doesn’t quite work. I used to work for Starbucks and that required me to get up every morning at 3 am to be at work at 4 am. If I can get into the habit of waking up at 5 am or even 6 am and writing for an hour or 30 minutes…

…well, my writing would thank me for it.

Tomorrow is my “long” day at school (8 am to 5 pm) and it’ll be followed by a night lab for an astronomy course I am in. I meant to go today, but I ended up running errands with the Bagpiper (got my military ID and I now have health care — WOOO!).

But tell me, what are your writing habits? Early bird or night owl?

3 responses

  1. Cid

    Night owl! All the way, no doubt about it. I tried getting up this morning to write early and it was a useless endeavor.

    March 3, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    • Alice

      Ugh, I’m a night owl too! Unfortunately, until I begin my trophy wife life in Japan, being a night owl is not an option right now. 😦

      March 3, 2011 at 6:33 pm

  2. Like you, my job doesn’t allow me to be a night owl. So, when I can I’ll get up at 4 am for my writing time. It only allows me to write for two hours before it’s time to get ready and leave for work, but it’s something.

    It’s crazy, I know, but I’ve written some of my best stuff before the break of dawn. I think it has to do with the fact that I’m still in a waking dream-state. Sounds silly, but whatevs.

    March 3, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Leave a Reply

