Sayōnara, Texas! Kon'nichiwa, Japan!

The Bagpiper is getting his orders by the end of the week, but we already know where we’re going and when.

*drumroll*

The Bagpiper’s orders say we’re going to Okinawa, Japan. We’ll be there for at least three years. Bagpiper leaves April 1 — one month from now!but because I’m about two months shy of graduating, I’ll stay behind and follow mid-May. Basically, as soon as I walk across the stage at graduation, I’m hoping a plane and headed to Japan.

Okinawa is the most southern of the 47 prefectures in Japan and is made up of about 160 islands (only 44 of which are inhabited). It’s also a tropical paradise. This will be my new home:

Living here for three years is going to be HARD. 😛

Aside from gorgeous beaches, there are lots of other cool things to see too. Like Katsuren Castle:

How cool is this?!

And the Sakura (cherry blossom) Festival (which I will arrive too late for this year, but I’ve got two other years to experience it):

Too bad I'll miss the festival this year!

So the next two weeks are going to be insane. The Bagpiper is setting up appointments for physicals, shots, the personal property office and even stuff for the dog. All in all, it looks like we’ll be out of our apartment and staying at my mom’s for awhile by Spring Break. Once he’s gone to Japan, I’ll stay with my mom until it’s time for me to follow.

We’ve known about Japan for awhile, though. We knew about a month ago that it was a very high probability that we would be headed to Okinawa. Now it’s official, so I’ve been given the green light to announce it to the world.

I can’t wait.

For those that know me, I’ve already done some research on local yarn shops. I’ve found two in Okinawa. 😛

 

 

ETA: Ignore the spelling/grammar mistakes. I was way too excited when I wrote this that I didn’t do a good job of proofreading. I’m finding things little by little and editing them as I find them..but yea…my fingers don’t type very well when I’m this excited. LOL

16 responses

  1. Wow, this will be exciting!

    March 2, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    • Haha! Ann Aguirre commented on my blog. I feel special.

      But yes, this is SO exciting. I can’t wait!

      March 2, 2011 at 5:13 pm

  2. Cid

    That’s super exciting! Might have to like, visit you some time over the next three years, ya know?

    March 2, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    • Of course! But, um, start saving now, cause tickets are something like $1300. And three years is the minimum. Who knows? Maybe we’re there longer!

      March 2, 2011 at 5:15 pm

  3. I’ll miss you but I’m so so super excited for you and Ted (and Sushi) to experience a whole different culture and place!

    March 2, 2011 at 5:27 pm

  4. I’ll miss my fellow HP geek but I’m so excited for you, Ted (and Sushi) to experience a whole different place and culture!

    I want Japanese candy and a postcard, please!

    March 2, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    • I’ll send lots of postcards…how about one from the HP Tokyo premiere? 😛

      March 2, 2011 at 6:48 pm

  5. Cassy

    Oooohh, so lucky! Omedetogozaimasu (congratulations)!

    March 2, 2011 at 6:36 pm

  6. Suzan

    I’m so sad!!! I will miss one fourth of our hive mind. And it’s part of the purple half too!

    But I’m unbelievably happy for you!

    March 2, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    • Hey! I’ll still be a part of the hive mind…just in the future! 😛

      March 2, 2011 at 6:47 pm

  7. congratulations! You will have lots of fun and new experiences. Expect to hear via the blog

    March 2, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    • Of course, it’s part of the reason I wanted to start the blog. 🙂

      March 3, 2011 at 8:49 am

  8. Alice I’m so happy and so sad at the same time!! It’s a good thing I’ve got someone in the office here who is going to show me all the cool tricks of the trade in remote technology. It could come in handy keeping in touch with you!

    March 3, 2011 at 8:58 am

    • Of course! I have Skype, so I can Skype in on #writersdatenights

      March 3, 2011 at 9:27 am

  9. Pingback: Week In Review – The Spring Break Edition

Leave a Reply

