Keep Calm and [insert witty phrase here]

Sometimes, when life gets too busy and too hectic, we have to prioritize. Somethings just need doing before others and other things can afford to wait another day or two.

When we prioritize, it’s important to remember that it’s not just work or chores that need taking care of. We need taking care of too! Things get so busy they spiral out of control and as we strive to get back on an organized path, we often forget to take a time-out from it all and take time for ourselves.

This past week has been brutally busy for me. Not only am I in school full time, but I’m taking care of Book-Addicts business (reading books, writing reviews, sending out emails and maintaining the Facebook and Twitter accounts). I’m also taking care of the house (cleaning, cooking), knitting gifts for others, helping out my mom since her car is not working at the moment and squeezing in time with my husband who works two jobs.

Now, some of you may look at that list and think it’s not so bad, but for me, it’s a busy schedule. School alone is enough to make borderline crazy with all the homework and studying. I’m lucky that this semester I don’t have any journalism classes — no writing papers or working to a deadline! However, I still get homework. On average, I’d say I spend about an hour or two outside of class doing homework or studying for a class.

Book-Addicts, for me, is a job. I may not get paid for my work reviewing books, but it’s a commitment (not to mention, I do have fun with it) and I gain a lot of public relations and journalism experience from it. I review about four or five times a month, plus I have a monthly feature post. Already, that means I have to think of a special feature post (either a giveaway or author interview usually), contact anyone I need to contact and write my reviews. We’re trying to stay a month ahead at Book-Addicts, which I currently am, but only just barely. In order to stay ahead, I have to plan out what I want to review a month or two in advance, make sure I have the books and of course, I need to read the books.

Granted, I average reading around 20 books a month, so reading three or four to review doesn’t seem like much, but sometimes it’s hard. Sometimes I’m not in the mood to read the romance I’m scheduled to review. I want to review a book one of the other members of Book-Addicts reviewed last month. We also have a Series Fix each month, where we basically spotlight a series in addition to our individual reviews — which means I’m reading the books I’m reviewing and the series books.

Now, if I’m only reviewing book one in a series, then I’m kind of off the hook. I can always read the rest of the series later. However, if I’m scheduled to review the last book in the series..guess what? I’m reading upwards of four extra books. Which is pretty much half of the 20 books I read each month. You can easily see how maintaining Book-Addicts, even with the help of three other amazing ladies, can be a bit daunting.

But I digress.

The point is, I’ve been feeling highly stressed with all the busy-busy of my days. So rather than write the blog post I intended to write for today, I’m rambling about my busy life just to say:

I’m taking a break! I’ll be back on Monday.


No “real” blog post today, but there will be one on Monday. Tonight I’m going to #writersdatenight (my writing group of awesome), tomorrow I’m going to do some MOH (maid-of-honor) duties with my friend and take my mom to run errands, but Saturday is all for me — I have plans to stay in pajamas all day, knit for myself, read and catch up on some Netflix.

I’ll do some housework on Sunday, but I’ll also take it pretty easy. Monday will bring me back to the grind, hopefully fully charged and ready to rock.

If you feel overwhelmed by the busy-busy, then I urge you to take a step back, breath and take a time-out! All that work will still be there later, and there is always something you can push off until later.

How do you cope when you’re stressed and overwhelmed? What are some of your favorite ways to unwind?

5 responses

  1. Yes! Take a break! It’s not good to be chewed up by stress for too long. *hugs*

    February 24, 2011 at 9:28 am

    • I’m glad #writersdatenight is tonight! That’s always good for unwinding AND being productive!

      February 24, 2011 at 11:18 am

  2. keep calm and conjure a patronus!

    I think it’s time I do the same. I’ve been feeling uber overwhelmed lately and you know what that means… yeah.

    We should plan to see DH again soon. Early next month?

    ooh back to the question..

    one of my favorite ways to unwind is take a long hot bath (one hour last night)

    February 24, 2011 at 10:47 am

  3. March is no good, sorry. I’m coming up on mid-terms, my one year anniversary and a few other things going on at home.

    February 24, 2011 at 11:17 am

  4. Cid

    You mean people unwind? There’s something besides being on a high strung tight rope of busy? Huh?

    I kid! Take a break, relax, knit something fun and read something for yourself.

    February 24, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Leave a Reply

