Mock Cover Makings: The Iron Circus

I’ve learned a lot about writing from my writerly friends. I like to take the things they do and try them out, seeing what works for me and what doesn’t. One of the many things I’ve picked up from Cid, is making mock covers for my projects.

When I get stuck at a particular part of the story, or I find it hard to get into the mindset to write a story one of the first things I do is make a mock cover. The mock cover allows me to browse stock photos (usually on Deviant Art) that remind me of my story, which is its own form of inspiration. It also gives me something to look back on for inspiration when I get stuck again. Also, it’s fun.

This time around, I decided to make a mock cover for my steampunk novel, The Iron Circus. I’m barley 7,000 words into the first draft, but I decided to forgo writing the scene I planned on writing today in order to do a mock cover.

So I found these two images on Deviant Art:

Photo Credit: Jaymasee

Photo Credit: GothicBohemianStock

Now, I’m not an image manipulating mastermind or anything, but with a little help from Paint.NET (a free program) as well as Picnik.com, I managed a mock cover I’m pretty proud of:

What do you think? Make you want to read the story?

Do you make mock covers for your projects? What do you use?

3 responses

  1. Cid

    I just love this. It’s really awesome how well it all came together. Just goes to show what you can do with a little creativity!

    February 16, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    • Alice

      I think it’s interesting to see the progression of my mock covers. My first two where just plain images with text added to it. Then I started mixing images…and now I’m mixing images and adding effects.

      You inspire me in a lot of ways; I’m glad you’re my friend and writing buddy!

      February 16, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      • Cid

        Awweeeee, you’re going to make me get all misty eyed here ;_;

        February 16, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Leave a Reply

