Meet Alice: Knitter to the Stars

"Hell Fire" inspired book cozy

A few days ago on Twitter, I said something to one of my favorite authors (Ann Aguirre, who also writes as Ava Gray and is one half of Ellen Connor) about being her minion.

She was pretty excited about having minions, so she delegated her first task: for me to knit her a hat.

Now, while she may have thought we were just joking, I got really excited. Honestly. You would have thought someone had given me tickets to the Quidditch World Cup.

Ann Aguirre asked me to knit her a hat.

Me.

For most others, I’d think the highlight of their life would be to meet a movie star or a musician. And while I acknowledge that it would be hella cool to brush shoulders with a movie star or a musician (remember, Michael Buble is my secret other husband), avid book addict that I am — authors are my movie stars.

Not only do they create some awesome, memorable characters, they build complete worlds with languages, religions, governments, etc. A lot of movies are based on books. Without authors, Hollywood would be dead.

But I digress.

So when Ann jokingly ordered me to knit her a hat, my response was: What color? What type? Beanie? Slouchy?

To which she replied blue and slouchy.

I told her I would knit her one and she said, “I will totally wear it and love it forever. And take pics.”

Meanwhile, I’m giggling like an idiot because one of my favoritest authors ever is asking me to knit for her. I promptly announced this to Twitter and Facebook.

So Saturday, I bought some blue yarn. Three different balls of yarn in three different shades of blue.

Ann only asked for one, but dude. Come on. She’s one of my favorite authors and hats aren’t difficult knitting projects. I’m totally knitting her three different styles of slouchy hats. I may or may not be knitting extra hats in attempt to gain favor for signed copies of her next releases…#itotallyam

First though, I promised a friend I’d knit her daughter some fingerless gloves, so that’s what I have on my needles at the moment. After these gloves are done though, I’m totally switching to hats for Ann.

Oh, I did finish my Tardis eReader cozy, but I can’t find my camera. Rawr. Hopefully I’ll find and charge it this week so that I can beaucoup pictures next Monday.

What are some of your favorite slouchy hat patterns?

And because I’m all about spreading book love…

You should read Ann Aguirre.

She writes urban fantasy (Corine Solomon series), scifi (Sirantha Jax series) and apocalyptic young adult (Razorland series) as Ann Aguirre, paranormal romance (Skin series) as Ava Gray and apocalyptic paranormal romance (Dark Age Dawning series) as Ellen Connor.

Also, I got to meet her this past November, and she’s super sweet. ❤

Excepting the books that aren’t out yet, I have all her books. And all of them are autographed except for four. 😛

10 responses

  1. Thanks for the recommendation. I’m always looking for new authors. I bet you are so giddy. I know I would be if one if my favourite authors wanted me to knit them something.

    January 31, 2011 at 11:49 am

    • If you want more book recommendations, check out the site I review for: http://www.Book-Addicts.com

      Lots and lots of book recommendations across all genres of fiction: fantasy, romance, urban fantasy, mystery, YA, etc. We also do giveaways — in fact we have a really big one going on right now and today’s the last day to enter. It’s for a complete paranormal romance series (seven books), all autographed. 🙂

      January 31, 2011 at 4:00 pm

  2. Carolyn

    This post made me grin madly. LOL!! Knitter to the Stars indeed! And to one very grateful Starbucks employee with cold hands. 🙂 You are awesome!

    January 31, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    • Yay! Well I’m working on your gloves and I’ll have them to you as soon as I can. 🙂

      January 31, 2011 at 4:00 pm

  3. LOVE the book cozy! I can’t wait to see what the completed hats look like. I’m going to start working on the chihuahua once I’m done with BA stuffs.

    January 31, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    • If you manage to crochet that chihuahua, I will love you so much. And I bet Ann will too. See, little plushies like that are why I want to learn to crochet.

      January 31, 2011 at 4:01 pm

  4. “You would have thought someone had given me tickets to the Quidditch World Cup.”

    THAT WOULD BE LIKE THE GOLDEN TICKET, DUDE. OMG

    January 31, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    • Dude. It IS the golden ticket. I love Ann Aguirre.

      February 1, 2011 at 11:48 pm

  5. Lori

    Ooh, that’s very cool! I have a slouchy hat to recommend – the Gwen Slouch (hope I did that link correctly). I made it for a friend and it turned out so pretty!

    February 1, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    • Oh! That’s gorgeous! Thanks for the recommendation, Lori!

      February 1, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Leave a Reply

