Knitting Resolutions

I’ve always loved the beginning of a new year.

I love the “blank slate” feel of them. That “I’m going to make changes!” feeling.

Unlike Calvin, however, I am far from perfect. I enjoy making new year resolutions and this year, I have a lot. One of them is this blog. Last year it began as my knitting blog and then, somehow, evolved into my writing blog. I’m currently in the process of moving my “professional” (writing) blog to another domain, allowing me to revert this blog to the crafty blog it was intended to be.

Last year gave me many lessons in blogging, and I’m feeling pretty confident about being able to keep this one (and others) up throughout 2011 and beyond. To begin with, I’ll be updating this blog every Monday. As the year progresses I may begin blogging twice a week, but for now, once a week it is.

So, to start the new year off with a typical bang, I’m posting my crafting resolutions!

Knitting
Attempt to knit something every week (small knits, like hats and fingerless gloves)
Attempt to knit bigger projects monthly (like afghans and sweaters)
Organize Ravelry queue by what projects I want to knit each month
Make more of an attempt to stash bust
Learn to knit socks, two at a time/toe up
Start Christmas knitting in the summer
Dye two skeins of yarn each month
Learn to spin

Sewing
Practice sewing
Make a kitchen apron
Make a skirt
Make a knitting bag
Hem up my dressy black pants

Soap Making
Make three soap sets a month

Candle Making
Learn and make candles by the summer

General Crafting
Make a digital scrapbook
Take more photos – print, frame and hang them up around the house

 

Like I said, I have a lot of resolutions this year. These are just my crafting resolutions — I have others for my writing, reading and personal life.

What are some of your resolutions for 2011? If you don’t make resolutions, why not?

9 responses

  1. Red

    Wow, that’s a lot of stuff to keep you busy! I want to try and knit 4 pairs of socks this year. I’m a slow knitter, and tend to lose my mojo in the summer, so I think any more would end up just stressing me out. I do intend to start my Christmas knitting earlier this year though! I’m also tempted to learn 2 at a time/Magic Loop, but to be honest I’m totally intimidated by it. It’s just so complicated!

    January 3, 2011 at 7:23 am

    • I tend to lose my knitting mojo in the summer too. Texas heat does not make me want to work with yarn very much. That’s why I’m determined to do some Christmas knitting over the summer, this way I have projects to work on. I probably won’t start until August though. I might spend the hotter months practicing my sewing or knitting dishcloth sets instead.

      January 3, 2011 at 8:16 am

  2. You have a ton of resolutions! I don’t do resolutions, I do yearly goals to be fulfilled by my birthday, which is in January. I have until the 22nd of this month for my Before 30 goals, and the 22nd of 2012 for my Before 31 goals, etc. πŸ™‚ They are all up on my blog!

    As far as knitting related, I have 3 weeks to dye my yarn!! I met my Christmas knitting and spinning goals already. My goals for this coming year are to spin, dye, design, and knit something for ME. (I love to knit, but I don’t actually enjoy knitwear myself. Kind of a bummer!) This coming year I also intend to start Christmas knitting NOW, because the 17 projects I completed for presents this Christmas were done in a month or two and KICKED MY ASS. I also want to design more things to put up on my etsy store. πŸ™‚

    Happy New Year!

    January 3, 2011 at 10:38 am

    • Yearly goals are pretty cool too! Dyeing yarn is fun — though it can be a little time consuming. In 2009, I knitted for EVERYONE in my family. Most of the projects where started in December. It was terrible. I realized later that most of the people I knitted for didn’t really appreciate the time/energy that went into their gift. This past year, I didn’t knit for anyone, except my best friend — I still haven’t given her the gift. I will this week though.

      While I do like knitting for others, this year I’ll knit for a few more people, but I’m going to make sure to only knit for the few people that will appreciate it. I have knitting gift tags that say things like “This took time to make. Appreciate it.” and “Even if you don’t like this. Act like it’s the best thing ever.”

      January 3, 2011 at 10:44 am

  3. You have so many resolutions. Good for you! I have two this year which is two more than I had last year! Going to do toe up socks and short row heels. That’s it. I bet you accomplish a larger percent of yours than I do of mine. Ha!

    January 4, 2011 at 5:58 am

    • Well I’m hoping I accomplish a large percent. The big goal, I think, is to just *do* more crafting than I did last year. If I manage 2-3 projects a month, I’ll consider myself a success. The first half of the year will be busy — I graduate (finally!) in May.

      After that…I have NO clue what my life will entail. lol

      January 4, 2011 at 8:22 am

  4. *ahem* you’re forgetting “TEACH PAM TO KNIT”

    January 5, 2011 at 2:53 am

    • When? You gotta tell me when, or I can’t teach you!

      January 10, 2011 at 9:20 pm

  5. Pingback: Frustrations in Knitting or, F@#$ing Frogging!! « adorably alice

Leave a Reply

