Readers 'n 'ritas

Between Thursday and today, I’ve written a whopping 3,000 words for NaNo.

That’s OK, though. I had a very busy, very fun weekend at Readers ‘n ‘ritas, a reader’s convention held by Fresh Fiction.

The first few of many free books...

Not only did I get a lot of goodies in the form of free books, but I got to talk to some authors, attend different panels and get some books signed.

The authors in attendance at RnRCon:

Though I’ve met a few of these authors before (Dakota Cassidy, Michele Bardsley, Jaye Wells and Rachel Caine), it was wonderful to see them again and get to talk with them more. Dakota Cassidy is hilarious to be around and Michele Bardsley is amazingly sweet. I was invited (along with the rest of my Book-Addicts companions) to dinner a couple of times with Dakota and Michele.

Ann Aguirre and I

However, I have to admit, I was probably most excited to meet Ann Aguirre. After discovering her earlier this year through her Corine Solomon series, she’s rapidly becoming one of my newest favorite authors. I have her sci-fi series and her romantic series (which she writes under the pen name Ava Gray) as well, and I’m looking forward to reading them.

Ann is really sweet, and I love that she used to be a clown. I got to have lunch with her at the convention and I’ll admit, I fan-girled a little sitting next to her and getting to know her better.

I really hope Ann returns next year, because I’ll have more books for her to sign (I brought five books for her to sign this weekend).

While I was rubbing elbows with some of my favorite authors, I also attended some of the panels.

The one I was most interested in was about writing romantic comedy. Since my NaNo novel is a romantic comedy, I was looking forward to hearing what the authors at this panel (Dakota Cassidy and Louisa Edwards) had to say about the genre. What I took away from this panel was that comedy often comes from slightly exaggerating personal experiences and not overdoing the slapstick.Β  Though I haven’t read Louisa Edwards (yet), I have read Dakota Cassidy — and if I can be half as funny as she is in her books, I’d be extremely happy.

Dakota Cassidy and Louisa Edwards explain the art of comedy in romance books.

Dakota and Louisa were also panelists on the other panel I attended about book reviews. I have to say, while this panel was interesting to sit in on, I didn’t take too much away from it. Reviewing for Book-Addicts gives me a lot of practice, and after writing some reviews for a couple of my classes, I have a better understanding of what makes a great review.

Saturday night, RnRCon held a costume ball, where readers were encouraged to dress up as their favorite character from a book.

Though I didn’t participate in this (partly because of a lack of costume and partly because by Saturday night I was exhausted), the other members of Book-Addicts did participate.

Cid dressed up as Urban Survival Barbie from Mira Grant’s “Feed”. She was a zombie killing Barbie — complete with sparkly pink accessories and a bedazzled and bloody machete.

Suzan dressed up as an urban fantasy heroine. I think she managed to count 12 possible books she could be the heroine for.

Linda looked really cute as a masked Little Red Riding Hood.

And though I wasn’t in costume, I had my eReader, so I was myself — a Book Addict. πŸ˜‰

Cid even won second place for Most Creative Costume. I’m sure she could have taken first, but there were a lot of Sherrilyn Kennyon fans in the room, and the girl who took first place was dressed as a character from one of Kennyon’s books.

L to R: Ann Aguirre, Linda, Me, Dakota Cassidy, Suzan, Cid and Louisa Edwards

RnRCon was lots of fun, but it was also very exhausting. I’m still trying to get back into the swings of things…

…I also need to find a way to make up for the no writing I did this weekend too.

5 responses

  1. Good luck with the Nano catch up πŸ™‚ I told Cid that this makes me glad I am just a reader not a writer but I will be ya’lls biggest cheerleader!

    I had a ton of fun too! The authors, the readers, and the hotel were really great!

    November 15, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    • Well, I’m not really behind. My main goal is to finish “Mouse Games” around 75K words. Ideally, I can make headway in a romantic fantasy piece, “Desert on Fire”, too…but at this point I’d settle just to finish the contemporary romance. It’s just hard to write during the week since I get so busy with school….and this week is HARRY POTTER.

      …why no, I’m not excited about that at all. πŸ˜›

      It was good to meet you too!

      November 15, 2010 at 4:15 pm

  2. Cid

    *sigh* I’m sort of accepting the fact that I”m behind and I just need to dig in and finish things, not worry about word count. That’s reasonable, right? Yeah?

    November 17, 2010 at 10:57 am

    • Yea, that’s what I’m starting to do. School work is keeping me very busy this week. I wanted to cross 50K today, but it doesn’t look like it’s going to happen.

      November 17, 2010 at 11:00 am

  3. Even though we didn’t get much done on the writing front, I think we each took something out of the experience at RnRCon. I’m so happy each of us was able to go, because I know I wouldn’t have had as much fun without you guys. That, and being able to rub elbows with so many wonderful authors who were just so open and friendly and hearing their own personal trials as a writer was a great experience.

    Also…I might get with you to take some notes on improving my own review writing. πŸ˜‰

    November 17, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

