The NaNo No-No

Week one of NaNoWriMo is over, and I’m both pleased and disappointed with my progress.

I rebelled a bit and started a project over, which put me behind for a couple of days on the 75K goal (and way behind on the 200K goal), but I’m a lot happier with the direction the novel is going.

In my last post, I talked about how I was having trouble with the beginning of “Mouse Games” and how I was going to experiment with writing scenes out of order. That experiment was short lived; I hated writing out of order and I couldn’t manage to stop dwelling on my botched beginning long enough to focus on a later scene.

So, I did a NaNo No-no: I started over.

Though NaNoWriMo encourages writers to just write for quantity, and not quality, with the idea that one can always revise after November. I couldn’t help it. I was very unhappy with how I started out and as a result, it put my writing into a funk. Thankfully, I worked my way out of it fairly quickly.

I restarted “Mouse Games” and switched to writing in first-person POV in the process. The result is a beginning that still needs a bit of tweaking, but not nearly as much as it needed before the restart. I’m writing linearly, and I’m more than one-third through the book.

With the first week of NaNo behind me, I’m pleased with the progress I am making on “Mouse Games”.

However, due to restarted and playing catch-up this weekend, I’m severely behind on reaching my 200K word goal. I’ll definitely hit the 75K mark, but I confess, I’m upset that it’s looking less and less likely I’ll reach 200K.

I’m trying to set shorter goals, rather than looking at this looming 200K mark. For example, today I want to write 9K. So, that’s the goal I need to focus on, 9K — not 200K, not 75K.

Even though I rebelled and did a NaNo No-no, I’m very happy with the way the first week of NaNoWriMo turned out, bumps and all.

How did your first week of NaNo go? What are your goals for this week?

NaNo Goal 1: 75,000
NaNo Goal 2:
200,000

Current Word Count: 28,000
Where I should be for Goal 1:
20,000
Where I should be for Goal 2:
54,000

2 responses

  1. I debated starting over.. a few days ago but then decided not to.

    I’m beginning to think I should’ve

    I’ve been staring at an empty doc for almost ten minutes with nothing on my head and I’m starting to think of all the different way I could start over. Although I’m close to being halfway to the 50K mark, I dont think I want to start over anymore. I just want to finish this, edit, and rewrite it in a few months

    November 9, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    • I’ll be honest, the only reason I started over was because it was only three days into NaNo, and I knew I could catch up easily. Had it been five or more days into NaNo, I probably would not have started over.

      Right now, though, I’m with you. I want to finish it and edit it in January. (December I’ll work on finishing “Desert on Fire”, cause I don’t think I’ll finish it for NaNo).

      November 10, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Leave a Reply

