A NaNoWriMo Experiment

Calvin & Hobbes by Bill Watterson

Inspiration.

As writers, it’s something we kind of need. Sure, we can sit down and force ourselves to write, but the result is a frustrating couple of hours with very little progress.

Normally, for me, my inspiration is high when I start a new project. The beginning is never the issue. It’s the middle where my inspiration begins to dwindle.

For “Mouse Games”, this is not the case.

It’s not that the beginning of my novel is boring, but the more exciting, funny stuff happens in the middle. “Mouse Games” is a romantic comedy about a woman looking for love online, and all the weirdos she meets.

I want to write about the weirdos and bad dates.

Usually, I write linearly. All that means is I write chronologically. I start with the beginning and write until the end.

But I’m behind on where I want to be word count wise (this is also probably due to my putting a little too much pressure on myself, but that’s another post), and part of that reason is because I’m struggling with my beginning.

If I continue to work on this story in chronological order, the chances are good that I can still finish “Mouse Games” for NaNoWriMo, but not good that I’ll finish “Mouse Games” and “The Dragon Moon”.

I’m still “OK” on my word count for hitting 75K this month, but I’m behind on hitting 200K — but there is still plenty of time for me to catch up. I think.

And because the idea of writing two novels is in my head, I’ve been telling myself it’s entirely possibly. I have a feeling I’ll feel disappointed if I don’t manage to finish both — which would suck, because I should feel extremely proud for finishing one.

Unlike Calvin, I can’t wait for “last-minute panic” to serve as my inspiration. Especially not if I continue to write chronologically.

Since I’m playing around with the Windows beta version of Scrivner (Scrivner is a writing software for writers — again, that’s another post for another time), I’m also going to experiment with writing scenes out of order, and putting them in order when I finish. I’m hoping that the result is that the beginning is easier to write at the end.

My muse and all the inspiration she’s giving me is focused on the middle right now, so I think I’m going to write the middle first.

Do you write chronologically or do you write scenes out of order?

NaNo Goal 1: 75,000 words
NaNo Goal 2: 200,000 words

Current Word Count: 11, 327 words
Where I should be for Goal 1: 10,000 words
Where I should be for Goal 2:
27,000 words

One response

  1. Pingback: The NaNo No-No « alice

Leave a Reply

