Blogging Circle: Just cause it works better, doesn't mean I'm doing it.

This week’s Blogging Circle question continues my recent trend of questioning plotting vs. pantsing — Experiences plotting and pantsing, which works best for you?

Honestly?

Plotting works a lot better for me. Especially since I lead a pretty hectic life. Between school, Book Addicts, knitting and life in general, I don’t get a lot of writing time that allows for pantsing. At least, not if I want to finish a story without getting distracted. Lately, as continue organizing my NaNoWriMo outline (and more recently, an outline for my newest fantasy, Dragon Moon), I’m discovering that plotting is actually works best for me.

But just because it works better for me, doesn’t mean I like doing it. I still prefer to just sit and write and see what happens. I kind of like the excitement of not knowing what’s going to be written until it’s being written.

For me, however, I think pantsing works better when I’m writing a shorter novel, a novella or a short story. When I’m working on one of my fantasy wips, like Dragon Moon, plotting definitely has its advantages — especially with world building.

Check out the world map I just drew for Dragon Moon:

 

Click to enlarge. I'm really proud of this!

 

So which works better for me? Neither. Both.

It really just depends on what I’m working on and how I feel. πŸ˜‰

Yea, I was a lot of help this week, wasn’t I? How about you? In your experience, which works best for you, and which do you prefer?

 

4 responses

  1. Stellar world map dude! I’m a planner and since I’m a NaNo newbie, I’m using my outlines and notes like my safety net. Also, I realized that I have no idea what my own writing process is for a long term piece so it will be interesting to find out if my plans become obsolete after week one (provided I’m still in). I really like your One Note set up. If I go digital, I would definitely follow your model.

    October 18, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    • Thanks! I’m really proud of that map, and it keeps me excited to work on that fantasy. I was a NaNo newbie last year, and I’m still a newbie to writing. It’s kind of neat to see where I was a year ago and where I am now. OneNote is AMAZING. If you don’t have it on your computer already, I recommend it. Of course, there are lots of other programs you can use too.

      October 19, 2010 at 12:49 pm

  2. Ohh can I be a Plotser? OR a Panstor? Because I’m a mix.

    (And I love your Map!) I’m the map.. I’m the map.. I’m the MAAAAP!

    October 19, 2010 at 1:06 am

    • I really didn’t need Dora stuck in my head, thankyouverymuch. πŸ˜›

      I think most writers are a hybrid of the two. Some just lean more one way than others. As long as you know what works for you, it’s all gravy, baby!

      October 19, 2010 at 12:50 pm

Leave a Reply

