Why Creative Writing Is Important

As November draws near, and my excitement for NaNoWriMo grows, more and more friends and family are asking me, “Why are you doing it?”

I suppose to people who aren’t writers can’t fathom why someone would want to attempt to crank out 50,000 words in a mere 30 days. The purpose is not to get published, as many of my friends are assuming. Would I love to be published? Of course. But that is not why I participate in NaNoWriMo.

So why do I do it?

Quite simply, I do it because I am writer.

I may not be published; I may not even be a good writer, but I am one. I have a story to tell. We all have stories to tell, it’s only not all of us want to tell them.

But what about those who want to tell them, but don’t have the means?

This is why creative writing programs are important.

Creative writing encourages imagination

Inventors, scientists and developers all have imagination. Creative writing helps people learn to think outside of the box. Creative writing helps children develop of problem-solving skills.

Creative writing teaches pursuasiveness

Whenever someone writes or tells an outlandish story, they are going to try to convince the reader/listener about the possibility of the story. This leads them to develop a detailed descirption about the events within the story in order to convince others of the story’s plausability.

Creative writing teaches discipline

Though it seems counterproductive, creative writing teaches discipline. Letting the imagination run wild is, as any writer can attest to, a lesson in discipline. Putting the thoughts in one’s mind onto paper and molding it into something enjoyable for others requires thoughts to be ordered, clear and concise.

Creative writing can be used as therapy

Creative writing is an outlet for bottled up emotions. Children, especially teens, often have a hard time opening up to others. Creative writing is a way to channel emotions and feelings so that they are not bottled up inside.

Creative writing helps improve grammatical skills

In a world where “text talk” is becoming more and more normal, creative writing helps children, teens and young adults practice good grammar and spelling without feeling like an English lesson.

Support creative writing today

Whether you are able to donate $1 or $10, I encourage all of you to please help me support the Office of Letters and Light in providing free creative writing programs for kids and adults.

If you would like to sponsor me, please visit my sponsor page and donate today.

One response

  1. We need that sign when we do write-ins at public places! I’m going to look for it.

    That’s the same reason why I do it too. But my family thinks I’m crazy to do it because I already have too many responsibilities (housewife, mommy)

    October 8, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Leave a Reply

