Stepping Out for NaNoWriMo

It’s October, which means NaNoWriMo is only a month away.

And with the NaNo forums officially opened up for discussions of all sorts, my excitement level about this year’s NaNo is through the roof. Last year during NaNo, I pretty much confined myself to my little desk in my apartment. I did not try to attend any write-ins or NaNo events. I had thought about it and perhaps even talked about it, but I never actually went.

Partly because despite living in DFW for as long as I have, I still get lost. And partly because, well, I just wasn’t very social last year.

Last year, I’d had a falling out with some semi-good friends and other good friends had moved away. So it was pretty much just the Bagpiper and I and no one else. I did try to attend a write-in at UTA, but I could never find them, so that was a bust. But when NaNo ended last year, I found myself with a great group of friends.

Friends that are also writers, readers and crafters, so we have lots of reasons to get together. This year, two of these friends, Cid and Suzan, are MLs (Municipal Liaison) for DFW. They’re kind of a big deal. Municipal Liaisons are local volunteers who help organize NaNoWriMo groups in their hometowns.

So because I have some really awesome friends who are all doing NaNo and because some of them are MLs, I plan on being a lot more social during NaNo this year. I’ll be attended the two kick-off parties later on this month. The Dallas kick-off party is Oct. 24 and the Fort Worth kick-off is the 30th. I may be late to the Fort Worth party, but I’ll show up anyway.

There’s a lot of discussions going on in the DFW regional forum board, and it’s sometimes hard to keep up with all the discussions, but I know that if something neat is going on, one of my friends will tell me.

I’m really excited for NaNoWriMo 2010.

…of course, I say this now, but when the time comes to balance out school with NaNo, I may have some expletives floating in my head as I question why I chose to do NaNo during school.

Leave a Reply

