New Writing Project: Party Favors

Sometime last week, it dawned on my that my NaNoWriMo novel for this year, Mouse Games,  is actually a sequel.

Mouse Games will still be my NaNo novel, but in the mean time, I’m working on Party Favors. While I fully believe that both of these stories will work well as stand alone novels, they both feature the same main character. This is exciting for me, since I’ve been itching to work on Mouse Games ever since the idea came to me. I no longer have to wait for NaNo now, since I have Party Favors to fill up the time meanwhile.

At #writersdatenight with Cid last week, I managed to write a little more than 5K. For me, this is a very big deal. Normally, I’m lucky if I write 1K in one sitting, let alone 5K. OK, so it helped that Cid said we could go buy new books if we each wrote 5K. We both met our goals, but by the time I had 5K it was late and the bookstore was closed.

This is probably for the best, since we each bought a book before we started writing. Ha!

This morning, I woke up and wrote another 1K in Party Favors. Tomorrow, though, I’d like to do a mini outline and work on some character profiles for characters that don’t appear in Mouse Games.

Yay for a new writing project!

As far as Dream Weaver goes…well, as much as I really, really, really love this story, I’m starting to realize that I just don’t have the world building technique to make it come alive as much as I want it to. So, for now, I’m putting it on the shelf. I need to find a good book on writing fantasy or find a workshop to attend. Maybe I can just write a series of short stories about some characters from the same world.

So, Party Favors is in and Dream Weaver is on hold.

This is temporary. I will come back to Dream Weaver. I just need to grow a little more as a fantasy writer before I come back.

Leave a Reply

