Writing Challenge: 750 Words

I’m going to attempt to write 750 words daily.

It is not blogging or story writing. It’s unfiltered, private brain dumping. The goal is not write content, but to write daily.

So why am I doing this in lieu of school and everything else?

Because as an aspiring author, I recognize that writing is a craft. It is something I need to work at everyday. If I can get into the habit of writing daily, as I am hoping this challenge will do, then I am that much closer to bettering my craft. The only way to get better at something is through practice. The more I write, the better writer I will become. Thus, as a novice, it makes sense to participate in this challenge.

It’s important to remember that this is not a challenge to write content, the way Story a Day challenged writers to write a short story every day. It’s important to remember that this is not like NaNoWriMo, which challenges to write an entire novel in 30 days. This is just a challenge to help one get into the writing mindset daily.

To write freely and unfettered. To get creative juices flowing. It’s not as easy as it looks, especially when you aren’t accustomed to writing daily. Normally, I write when the mood strikes. I admit to doing more research and rereading of what I’ve already written than to actually writing. If I want to better myself as a writer, I need to change the mentality of writing when the muse is awake.

Because let’s face it, I’ve gone so long neglecting my muse, that she’s not always around. We dance around each other cautiously. Me, trying to rebuild trust, her trying to see if I’m being genuine. So if I teach myself to get into a daily writing habit, perhaps she’ll be more likely to visit more often.

If I succeed, I’m treating myself to a shopping day with Cid, without spending an exorbitant amount of money. If I fail, then my name goes on 750Words “Wall of Shame” and I will have to try again next month.

But I’ll need help. Great writing skills don’t just appear over night (at least, not for me). Maybe I need more books on the art of writing and becoming a better writer than I do fiction books. Perhaps a small trip to Barns and Noble is in order…

I had to read books to learn how to knit, so why not read books to learn how to write?

So here I am.

Just a writer, practicing what I love and hoping for the best.

3 responses

  1. Three pages a day is a good goal. I wish that’s all I had to do to make deadline. As it is, I’ve got at least 10 and that doesn’t include any editing time. *sigh*

    August 28, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    • Luckily, I still have a ways till I’m having to make deadlines. Hopefully someday, though! For now, I’m content to just get my ideas on paper and build up good writing skills.

      August 28, 2010 at 4:57 pm

  2. “Normally, I write when the mood strikes. I admit to doing more research and rereading of what I’ve already written than to actually writing.”

    That’s me right there. I started taking the challenge along with you. I decided to start participating today, though I did ‘some’ writing this weekend.

    Monica, that is some deadline. It puts my measly progress to shame!

    August 30, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Leave a Reply

