WIP Update

Now that I’m back and I’m settling into my routine again, I’m messing around with my WIP, Dream Weaver (previously: Tangled Dreams).

I had been toying around with whether or not I wanted it to say YA or do YA epic fantasy or fantasy, but looking over what I’ve written (the original, very bad MS and all the rewrites) I’ve decided that of all the rewrites of the first two chapters I’ve done (there are 7 rewrites total), this story/series is going to be epic fantasy. I didn’t like how it was working in the contemporary world with fantasy elements mixed in. I liked how it was doing for a contemporary YA fantasy, but for the overall story, I don’t think YA would work down the line.

So it’s going to be fantasy. I had already been leaning toward fantasy, so I’ve got a One Note notebook filled with all kinds of history/lore, places, people — tons of world building stuff.

I’m feeling totally excited and motivated to rewrite this. I didn’t want to give up on this story, despite a very ABYSMAL first draft (the excuse was that it was done for my first NaNo and I was more concerned with reaching 50K than writing anything GOOD). So, in the spirit of Cid & Linda, who enjoy making mock covers for their WIPs, I did on for Dream Weaver.

Synopsis (updated for fantasy genre):

Among the clans of the Tuatha, a young but powerful Dreamer is awakened.

Having been plagued by dark visions, Nadia begins learning the art of Dream Weaving from the Dreamers and Mystics of Clan Aisling. Studying beneath Conner Aisling, the clan’s most powerful Dream Weaver and the only known Spirit Guide among the Tuatha, Nadia quickly becomes a powerful Dream Weaver in her own right.

But when she is accused of murdering the prince, she’s driven away from the only home she’s known. Along with her twin brother Aidan, the Guardian Sorin and Conner’s familiar, a wolf named Suenyo, she must find away to clear her name and bring the real murderer to justice or face persecution from her people.

But who would want the prince dead? And why would they put the blame on a mere Dream Weaver?

But more importantly, why is Nadia being haunted by visions of the spirit of the prince?

Yep. So there you go. Making a cover and rewriting the synopsis has me all kinds of motivated. Now I just need to get my butt to more writing groups (Cid, Linda, Suzan and Carolyn — make me go, OK?) to keep my motivation levels up.

3 responses

  1. *gasp* Alice. Do whatever it takes to get this written, ’cause I want to read it!! Maybe you and I should get Cid and Suzan to whip our butts into spending more time writing.

    August 25, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    • I really want to get it written. The NaNo version is something awful, but the very general idea is something I’m passionate about. I tend to write more when I’m around you guys, so I just need a kick in the pants to go to writer’s date night every week!

      But I’ll make you a deal. I’ll write this if you write The Jester’s Wife…then we can swap..cause I really want to read that!

      August 25, 2010 at 8:56 pm

      • DEAL!! I’m actually going to be breaking ground for Jester’s Wife today. But, will have to put it down once NaNo arrives, so I have to write what I can before then.

        August 26, 2010 at 9:29 am

Leave a Reply

