*eyeroll* Srsly. That's a bit annoying.

Ack! I’m way late in writing this post for this week’s Blogging Circle (guys, have we decided on a name for this yet?). Last week we discussed the quirks we love. This week it’s all about what gets under our skin.

Because I’m fresh back from my honeymoon and I have a bit to do before the semester begins tomorrow, this will be a short post. Plus, it’s hard for me to think of character quirks I truly hate.

There are plenty of cliche quirks that are overused (most commonly in YA, I think), but sometimes it’s not so bad. What I truly despise is when characters have no quirks whatsoever.

Here’s the thing, quirks are what make characters identifiable and relatable. No quirks, no relatability to character. I don’t want to read about a know-it-all character, because guess what? NO ONE (unless you’re writing a god character or an expert on a certain subject) knows everything. It’s OK to have a character who thinks they know everything, but to read about someone who actually does know everything? Not very interesting, and more than a little annoying.

Worse still are the characters with no personality quirks or traits at all. Bland, flat characters are the absolute worst. When I encounter a book that has bland characters, I usually do not even finish the book. If I do finish, I usually don’t like it overmuch. I can’t think of a book I did like that had bland characters.

So, there you go. If your writing a character with no quirks at all, give them a quirk — even if it’s cliche.

What say you, Cid?

2 responses

  1. …I can’t seem to come up with a name yet for our Blog Circle. Maybe that can be an annoying character trait? Lack of imagination? 😛

    August 23, 2010 at 9:56 pm

  2. Pingback: Question of the Week: What character quirks do you hate? « LM Dershem

Leave a Reply

