Books and Bunnies

Taking a page from Cid, who knit a book cozy for a Book-Addicts giveaway, I decided to knit one myself.

Though I finished it yesterday afternoon, I get lazy when it comes to weaving in ends and seaming. But I made myself finish it completely today. Viola!

Book: Magic to the Bone by Devon Monk

Book Cozy

Originally, I wanted to duplicate stitch “Book Addict” on one side with white yarn, but it didn’t work out the way I wanted it. Next time I’ll need to find a chart pattern for letters and knit them in instarsia style.

My next book cozy, however, is going to be using a different pattern I found. It’s super cute and comes with handles.

I’ve also taken to knitting little bunnies. The idea for this is to manage to knit a bunch (and by a bunch, I mean at least two dozen) and pass them out to friends during NaNoWriMo, this way all the writers have plot bunnies to keep them going. I test knitted a pattern I found (originally it’s for a catnip toy) and it was very easy and almost no seaming what-so-ever. I’m a slow knitter, and I knit him up in less than hour. It took me another hour to put him together, but that was just me being lazy. All in all, I’d say the average knitter could knit one an hour.

Ok, plot bunny. Do your thing. Gimme a plot.

He’s lonely, so I’m going to have to knit him a friend tonight (as I continue watching season two of Angel).

Debating on whether or not I should add a nose/mouth. I’ll have to try it in another color before I do. Still, he’s cute, no?

3 responses

  1. Cid

    Man, someday I’ll be as good as you are!

    August 8, 2010 at 8:19 pm

  2. You are good! The bunny is a simple, simple pattern. I can show it to you and together you and I can amass an army of plot bunnies like none other the world has ever known! bwahahaha!

    August 8, 2010 at 9:41 pm

  3. dru

    Ohhh my gosh. So much cute!

    Imma need you to link me to that pattern so I can attempt to knit a bunneh*.

    I think he’s really cute as is, but I think a little mouth wouldn’t go amiss. I love the ears!

    *It probably won’t work as I’ve never knit to a pattern before and I’m not really very good.

    August 11, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Leave a Reply

