Chicago and Book News

My five day vacation into Chicago for my brother’s graduation from Navy boot camp only yielded about 1K total in writing. I did, however, manage to finish a new book (Mystic and Rider by Sharon Shinn) and start a new one (City of Bones by Cassandra Clare).

Because I did not meet my writing goals this past week/weekend (and let’s face it, the goal was kind of a long shot considering I was on vacation), I’m calling JulNoWriMo a bust. It pains me to quit, but sitting at just under 10K and five days away from the deadline…

..there’s just no way I’m going to hit that 50K mark.

I’m still working on Dream Weaver (previously titled Tangled Dreams) , only now, it’s my goal to have it completely finished by October. I think revision, since it’s still so new to me and the book needed/needs a lot of work, is just not something very feasible for me to complete in a month. So I’m taking my time with it since I’m doing a lot of world building and redoing a lot of what I originally had. For all intents, I’m just rewriting the whole thing and still toying with whether or not I want it to be YA fantasy or just good ole epic fantasy.

I’m currently working on two versions of the story — another reason it’s taking so long.

The week wasn’t a total loss, though.

I was able to visit Chicago for the very first time and I got to see my little brother for the first time in two months. I have mixed feelings about my trip. Chicago style pizza was definitely a highlight, the no having of Dr Pepper was not. Getting to see my brother maturing and turning into a man was awesome (I cannot believe how much more mature he’s become. I am SO proud of him.), dealing with a lot of rude people made me miss Southern Hospitality a great deal.

Not to say everyone in Chicago was mean, but they weren’t exactly doing their best to be helpful to out-of-towners either. All in all, it was an OK trip. There were a lot of fun parts about Chicago, but I’m kind of sad I missed seeing the Navy Pier because of a douchebag bus driver…

..there were fifteen of us waiting for the bus to the Navy Pier. He finally showed up after a good 30min of waiting, and was entering at an awkward angle (there was another bus there sort of blocking his way), so he opened the doors and asked us to go around the corner to the next bus stop and he’d pick us up there. No problem. We turn the corner and get to the next bus stop…and he kept going straight. Seriously? Because we only had limited time with my brother before he needed to return to base, we missed out and took the train back to RTC and then went to the mall. Ugh. That amounts to nearly 3hrs wasted, cause it’s an hour train ride from RTC to downtown Chicago, plus the hour spent downtown.

Anyway, his AT school is right across the street from RTC, so he’s in Chicago til at least October. Hopefully he gets to come home and visit for either Thanksgiving or Christmas and see his daughter. But he looks good and seems to be doing really well on his own.

:)

In other really exciting news, that secret project I’ve mentioned? Well, some writer friends and I have started a really awesome book review site: Book-Addicts.com

While the official launch is scheduled for Aug. 1, you should still stop by, subscribe and be a fan on Facebook. We’re planning lots of  giveaways, guest blogs from authors and author interviews!

2 responses

  1. Jen

    Yay for Manny graduating, and don’t worry about JunoWriMo! I have faith in your writing goals, and I am happy that you got to read, even if you didn’t get to write!

    July 27, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    • Yea, I’m not too bummed out about JulNoWriMo. I just want to be finished with this book completely so I can move on to book two. I just can’t decide yet how I want to write it so I keep putting it down and working on something else. It’ll get finished though!

      July 28, 2010 at 10:17 am

Leave a Reply

