The Shadowed Heart: a trilogy in the making

After writing all day yesterday (nearly 7K words!), I decided that today I would take a break from writing and work on some knitting.

Ever since the Really Big Idea came back into my life, my knitting has been sorely neglected (Story a Day May is also not helping). However, while searching through Ravelry for a pattern to catch my fancy, the beginnings of a prophecy for the Really Big Idea began working in my brain.

So I abandoned Ravelry and started writing.

I spent all afternoon trying to word the prophecy. I’m still not sure I’m entirely happy with it, but for now, I think it’s OK. I’ll worry about fixing the one line that truly bothers me later. The idea is there, and that’s all I need for now.

After writing the prophecy (and let me just add here, how freaking cool I think it is that my story even has a prophecy and that I was even able to come up with one), I used one of the stories I did for Story a Day, The Sahar House,  as the prologue. For now I am happy where the prologue ends, but I may go back and flesh it out just a little more.

Naturally, once I saw that I had a cover page, a prophecy page and the prologue all together I wanted to keep writing.

Knitting forgotten (again), I began working on chapter one.

And guess what?

Midway through chapter one and my story has a name: Child of Secret: Book One of the Shadowed Heart.

Yes, that’s right. Book ONE.

I’ve been working on the outline for this little by little, and it’s pretty big. The way I’m looking at it right now, I think I have the makings of a pretty decent fantasy trilogy on my hands.

How exciting is that?!

What current project are you working on that has you all sorts of excited about it?

2 responses

  1. Cid

    I’m excited about yours! You should come write with us tonight.

    May 27, 2010 at 7:16 am

  2. Pingback: 28. Acceptance - a wonderland of words

Leave a Reply

