Gray skies are gonna clear up..

..put on a happy face.

After taking the evening to really think it over, I’ve made the decision that I will be planning my wedding on my own. Yes, Ted will help, but I will do the bulk of the planning.

Originally, my mom was helping me a lot. She’d call me when she got home from work and ask me to come over so she could show me pictures she had printed out of various cakes, flowers, invitations, etc.

However, while I feel like I do need to plan in advance to make things run smoothly, I don’t feel as though every small detail needs to be completed yesterday. Mom is making me feel like I’m getting married tomorrow and everything needs to have been done ages ago. The most important piece (to me) was setting a date, finding a venue and a caterer. Guess what? I have all three.

I’m in school full time. I can’t devote every waking moment to wedding planning. Truth be told, I’m not as into it as my mom may want me to be. I’ve never that type of girl. I loath shopping (unless it’s for yarn or cooking ingredients) and I don’t have fun browsing through a bunch of wedding websites to get ideas.

In the end, this day is about Ted and myself. It’s about our love.

Our day will be filled with things that make us happy, not with what makes others happy.

My grandmother is trying to take over the guest list; she frequently gets upset when told that not all of her friend are going to be invited. I don’t know them, and don’t feel obligated to invite them.

I’ve also been struggling with chosing my maid of honor. As of now it’s my friend Dusty. We where very close in high school, but I haven’t seen her in YEARS. I rarely talk to her, though I keep in contact with her via facebook. Lately, however, I don’t know if I want her to my moh. I don’t have many female friends, but I don’t know if I’m 100% comfortable with chosing her. She doesn’t live in Texas (she’s in Arizona), so I wouldn’t get a bridal shower or anything fun like that.  I kind of want to do those silly bridal things that a moh is supposed to take care of.

But who do I chose when I don’t really have any female friends? I’m going to wait a few more weeks and really worry about it in say..November.

I will also plan other things like invites, engagement pictures, flowers, centerpieces, music, and whatever else on my own. If I truly need my mother’s help, I will ask, but I will not agree to all of her suggestions or feel rushed simply because she thinks that everything needed to be taken care of weeks ago.

She says it’s because she needs the time to buy things and to save up.

Though I don’t have the heart to tell her (despite how angry I get with her) that I’m no fool. I know that she doesn’t have the money to throw me a lavish wedding. I know that Ted and I will pay for the vast majority of the wedding. That’s okay with us.

That’s where I am with that. I was truly upset earlier (in tears upset) with how everything was making me feel. But in the end, my day, my decisions.

On a brighter note, I finished my second slouchy hat! I’ve named it “Gray Skies” because of the color. It’s the type of hat to wear on a blistery gray-skied day. So why not?

Gray Skies

Perhaps not the ideal weather for such a hat.

Who cares about the weather? I can still wear it if I wanna!

Who cares about the weather? I can still wear it if I wanna!

Now to start on that Christmast knitting. If I don’t start now..it’ll never all be done on time. First up – a drop stitch scarf with a matching slouchy hat. This time, though, I think I’ll try some cables in the hat. I’ve never done cables before.

2 responses

  1. I was married a year ago, it’s totally possible to do on your own, and while in school. I planned mine while working full time and taking a couple grad school classes at night every semester. You can even make stuff on your own and it’s fun! If you or someone you’re friends with knows a bit about MS Paint even, you can make your own programs. Good luck with it! I loved it as a project. I’m sure since you’re creative, you’ll do great with everything! And don’t underestimate the value of discount fabric shops.

    I haven’t done cables yet either …

    August 19, 2009 at 3:13 am

  2. Weddings are so stressful for no reason! Just try to enjoy yourselves and have a great time!

    (and cables are totally fun)

    August 19, 2009 at 3:18 pm

Leave a Reply

