Do you even remember how to blog?

It’s been so long, I know. Mostly, I blame summer courses. They’re over with now, however, and I find myself with a little over a week of freedom before the fall semester begins.

First, I want to thank all of you for the amazing support and help you’ve given from my last blog post. I was moved to tears several times, and even just placing my mother on your prayer list is absolutely wonderful of you. She’s doing a bit better now, and her spirits are higher, which is a blessing. She’s begun going back to church and has recieved an outpour of support there as well. So, thank you. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

Unfortunately, I have not done a whole lot of knitting over the summer. Summer courses definitely saw to that. Sadly, I did not get to finish my Harry Potter scarf in time for the midnight movie premier. That’s partially my fault. I kept getting bored with the endless 1×1 ribbing. In all, it’s about 20% done. I feel confident that after Christmas I can go back to it. I’d love to say I’d go back to it before, but who am I kidding, right??

the ribbing, she never ends.

the ribbing, she never ends.

A 6ft long scarf done in 1×1 ribbing with 75 sts across is just not much fun after oh, say 3 rows?

Despite not finishing my Ravenclaw scarf, I did manage to do some other knitterly things.

I re-began my first sock. I met a new knitter (knittingfairy) and even went to one of her knitting afternoons and met a bunch of other knitters. She helped me turn my first heel. Oh yes, that’s right. I can now turn a heel. It took a few tries, but I got it. I really just need to knit up the foot part and I have a sock. Then of course, there is that business about its mate…

heel the first!

heel the first!

I also bought a lovely shawl pattern from knittingfairy, called “The Magic Shawl”. I plan on using the lace yarn I bought a while back from Hello Knitty. It’s handpaintedyarn.com lace in Lunar Moche. This will be both my first lace project and first shawl for me. I need to check gauge and make sure I have the right size needles. I’m hoping to begin next week and get as much done as possible before the fall starts.

mysterious as the dark side of the moon

mysterious as the dark side of the moon

Now that I think about it, this summer (or mostly July) was full of firsts for me. First heel turn, first lace project, and a first hat. I completed my first hat a couple of weeks ago using one skein of Vanna’s Choice in Purple Print. It was gifted to me by a nonknitting friend (and as is usually the case, I just get one skien of several types of yarn). I really loved the purplyness of it, but was having a hard time finding a one-skein pattern that caught my eye.

Then I decided that I wanted to try a slouchy hat, cause they’re just so cool at the moment. I found a cute, very simple pattern, and two or three days later, I had a hat! It was a bit akward, because the pattern calls for the medium lenght hat to be at least 7in long, and I felt like I was running out of yarn, so I cut it back to 6.5in. Now I know I had plenty of yarn, but oh well. Now I just have left over bits to pass on to some one in the RAK group that enjoys left over bits. I also freaked out a little bit near the end. My excitement of finishing my first hat was so powerful, that I fell into despair when I realized that I needed to switch from the circs I was using to dpns. Of course, I should have known better, but I simply just didn’t realize it.

Panic ensued when I couldn’t fnd the right size dpns.

Despair washed panic away when I went on Ravelry to ask if using dpns two sizes too small would be okay. Possible, but not the best option.

Sadness.

So, I put my hat away, and went to my linen yarn closet to find something new to start. I looked in my big purple rolling bag to see what goodies I had stashed in there and forgotten about. Nothing really, it was a bunch of cotton yarn, and I was not in the mood to do dishcloths (I made like 5 of them for Handmade RAK gifts).

Surprise! Size 8 dpns!

Glee.

I finished my hat and wore it the very next day (Ted and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary, and as is our custom, we went to the circus).

mmmm, purply.

mmmm, purply.

Since it was such an easy and fun project, I quickly c/o for a second. Though this time around I used smaller circs for the ribbing and then switched to the size 8s. The second hat will be a bit slouchier (remember, I was “running out” of yarn the first time and had to cut it short) and all gray. I’m using Reynolds Utopia. I’m nearly done, another inch or so, and I’ll begin decreasing. Should be done tonight, and tomorrow (hopefully) I will start my shawl.

I’m thinking a lot of females in my family are getting slouchy hats as gifts for Christmas this year…

…which means I get to go by yarn in the next few weeks. And you know how that goes. Something for you, something for me, something for you, something for me…

Oh! And on the wedding front, I found my venue! I actually won one of those drawings they do at bridal shows! I got $1,500 off the use of the venue (which amounts to about 1/3 of the price, so a nice deal!), and then, because some one else was booked on the day I wanted, I’m getting FREE (yes, free) h’ordourves (sp?) for 100 guests. Which amounts to a savings of over $600, just for moving my wedding a week earlier. Ha!

Going to the chapel and we're gonna get married.

Going to the chapel and we're gonna get married.

We can conquor the world, in love, you and I.

We can conquor the world, in love, you and I.

I also have a close friend from high school flying down to do the photography (she’s owns her own studio in Iowa). Bridal shots, all day wedding/reception shots, all the shots I want for just $900! Very excited, cause looking at photographer prices was a bit scary.

My mom’s cousin does wedding cakes, so she’s doing my cake (and they are delicious too). I already have the dress, and Ted’s mom sews, and has agreed to make my veil.

All I need to do are engagement photos on my own (easy), save-the-dates (next week with Mom), invites (need to finalize guest list and get addresses), pick out rings with Ted, finalize honeymoon (week long cruise in the southern Carrbbean!), get my past port, and find a florist.

Excitement abounds!

2 responses

  1. Susie

    Well you certainly have been busy! The HP scarf…car or tv knitting. Something you don’t have to think about and can just knit on whilst doing something else. Love the slouchy hat! Similar to the one I made that was supposed to be for me but wound up being for Patrick. And last, definitely not least, yay on the wedding venue!
    See you in two weeks when we get back from our vacation.

    August 14, 2009 at 5:22 pm

  2. Glad your mom is doing better. The yarn looks so yummy!!! Don’t forget to post pictures of your progress :). Congrats on your wedding plans, finding a bargain is always exciting. My children once asked me why I got excited when I found a bargain, I told them that it was the thrill of the hunt ;P.

    August 15, 2009 at 3:14 am

Leave a Reply

