Lime Kitchen Set


After a week of distractions, some necessary, most not, I’ve finally finished my Lime Kitchen Set. About three weeks ago, my soon to be mother in law asked me if I could knit her some dishcloths. I told her I would. Even though I had some ready made that I could have given her, I decided to go a bit further and make her a kitchen gift set. She’s always doing so much for both Ted and I, so it wasn’t a bother at all to decide to give her an entire set for the kitchen. I only wish I hadn’t been so distracted all week so I could have given it to her sooner. I’ll probably take better pictures tomorrow morning when there is more light to do so, but for now, I’m happy and very proud to have finished the set at long last.

I don’t expect I’ll post the new pictures here, but they’ll be on my project page on Ravelry.


Though the dishtowel was supposed to be a foot long, with another 6-7 inches for the hanging strip, I had to cut it short because I began to run out of yarn. The towel is about 9 inches now, and I think I prefer that to the entire foot. The hanging strip is about 4-5 inches, and I may undo the button and resew it on a bit lower just for aesthetic purposes, but I do like the “shortened” version better. Perfect amount of towel to dry your hands on. The stitch pattern, I think, looks really good with the colorway. I may have to get another skein and do another in this color. I really, really like using Lion Brand Cotton Ease for this. It’s a bit softer than the Peaches & Cream Cotton that so many people like. Lion Brand’s Cotton Ease is not 100% Cotton, it’s a 50-50 blend of cotton and acrylic, which makes it a bit softer as well as machine washable and dryable. I’ll probably tell my mother in law that it’s still probably best to just lay flat to dry.

2 responses

  1. Susie

    Love it! Gorgeous pattern and wonderful color.

    June 2, 2009 at 8:34 pm

  2. adorably alice

    Thanks! I really love making these kitchen towels. I’m working on a yellow kitchen set now. Not sure who I’m gifting it to yet, but they’re fun to make and give away!

    June 2, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Leave a Reply

