Designs by JC and Kitchen Sets

I completely forgot to update about the pretty jewelry Mom made me to wear to the wedding in Austin. Which reminds me, just because the words “wedding” and “Austin” are on my blog and I write that I am engaged, does not mean I am looking for a photographer, venue, or any other wedding related people to spam my inbox/twitter account. I am not from Austin. I only drove there to visit a wedding. Repeat: I am not from Austin.

Boy was that ever annoying, to have a bunch of offers and what not. If you truly read my blog, you’d realize I am not in Austin nor am I getting married in Austin.

Anyway.

Mom makes jewelry, and so after I bought a dress to wear I thought I’d go visit her and borrow something to wear with the dress. Well, that wouldn’t fly with her, and she insisted on making me something brand new. I think a muse bit her or something, because she spent an hour trying to find the beads that would have been perfect. She didn’t find them until the day after, but I still love what she made me. And I when I asked if I had to give it back when I was done (so she could sell it and make money) she told me it was all mine. Gotta love mothers.

I used the dress as a backdrop, and I think it came out really good that way.

So if you’re in the market for handmade jewelry..let me know and I can pass along the info..

I’m supposed to go back to Mom’s sometime and take pictures of all the things she has ready. I’ve set her up with an etsy account, I just need pictures to post and her prices. Hopefully within the next 2 weeks or so I can get this done for her. She’s really talented at it, and I’d love to help my mom get her designs out there so she can make a little extra cash.

Knitting wise, I’m working on two kitchen sets (a hanging kitchen towel and two potholders/dishcloths). I have one in Cotton-Ease (Lion Brand) in Lime, the other on Maize. The lime one is almost done. About 50% through with the towel, and once that is done, that set is finished. That set is going to my mother in law to be. I was hoping to finish it today, but I have some errands to run, and I don’t think I’ll have it done today. The Maize/Yellow one is just going to sit in a bin of finished items, and I’ll either gift it to some one around Christmas time, or maybe list it on my etsy. Not sure which yet.

I’m on a huge kitchen knitting kick right now.. I really enjoy making these dishtowels. I feel like it’s a knitted gift I can give to any one, and it’s something that will get used.

2 responses

  1. Susie

    I have a spool of cotton and would love to make pot holders. Where did you get the pattern? Yours are adorable!

    May 30, 2009 at 1:54 pm

  2. adorably alice

    Oh that’s the easiest pattern in the world. I use “Grandmother’s Favorite” dishcloth pattern, but I instead of using US 7, I use a smaller needle for a tighter knit for more insulation. I think I used US 6 (maybe 5).c/0 4r1: knitr2 k2, yo, knit to endrepeat r2 until there are 44 sts, then use:k1, k2tog, yo, k2tog, knit to endwhen there are 4 sts on the needle, b/o.or, you can b/o 1, and do an icord with the remaining 3 and make a little hanging hook.my project page on rav shows one with that. (sleepypanda)

    May 30, 2009 at 2:09 pm

Leave a Reply

